Bring It On Home: Black America Sings Sam Cooke Various Artists (Black America Sings)


60s Soul
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1420

That Sam Cooke ranks alongside lauded performers such as Otis Redding, Aretha Franklin, Marvin Gaye and Etta James as one of the greatest soul singers of all-time is beyond question. Something not quite so well-known is that he was also a very accomplished songwriter – a fact celebrated in this fifth release in our “Black America Sings” series.

As compiler Tony Rounce points out in his notes, of the 35 R&B hits Sam amassed between 1957 and 1965, 25 were written or co-written by him, as were many of their B-sides, and he also penned quite a few numbers specifically for other artists. Several of the songs featured in this collection were hits for Sam, but here we are treated to ‘You Send Me’ by Percy Sledge, ‘Win Your Love For Me’ by Lou Rawls, ‘Love You Most Of All’ by the Persuasions, ‘Wonderful World’ by Johnny Nash, ‘Cupid’ by R.B. Greaves, ‘Bring It On Home To Me’ by Eddie Floyd, ‘Having A Party’ by the Ovations featuring Louis Williams, ‘Somebody Have Mercy’ by Willie Hightower, ‘(Ain’t That) Good News’ by the Supremes (with a rare lead vocal by Florence Ballard), ‘Good Times’ by Aretha Franklin, ‘Shake’ by Otis Redding and Brenton Wood’s version of ‘A Change Is Gonna Come’, Sam’s magnum opus. There’s also ‘The Sound Of My Man’ by Theola Kilgore, a ‘Chain Gang’ answer-song.

Moreover, Sam ran his own record labels, SAR and Derby, from which this set boasts sides by Johnnie Taylor, the Simms Twins, Johnnie Morisette and Mel Carter. That’s Sam and colleagues J.W. Alexander and Lou Rawls singing the distinctive “hmm-hup-chala” backing chant on Johnnie Taylor’s ‘Rome (Wasn’t Built In A Day)’. Easier to spot is Sam as lead vocalist on ‘That’s Heaven To Me’ by the Soul Stirrers, recorded at his final session as a member of the group.

By Mick Patrick


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Having A Party (Medley) - The Ovations feat Louis Williams

  • 02 Preview Rome (Wasn't Built In A Day) - Johnnie Taylor

  • 03 Preview You Send Me - Percy Sledge

  • 04 Preview Shake - Otis Redding

  • 05 Preview (Chain Gang) The Sound Of My Man - Theola Kilgore

  • 06 Preview I'm Gonna Forget About You - Bobby Womack

  • 07 Preview When A Boy Falls in Love - Mel Carter

  • 08 Preview Bring It On Home To Me - Eddie Floyd

  • 09 Preview That's Heaven To Me - The Soul Stirrers

  • 10 Preview Cupid - R.B. Greaves

  • 11 Preview Dance What You Wanna - The Miracles

  • 12 Preview Meet Me At The Twistin' Place - Johnnie Morisette

  • 13 Preview I'm Alright - Little Anthony & The Imperials

  • 14 Preview Wonderful World - Johnny Nash

  • 15 Preview Love You Most Of All - The Persuasions

  • 16 Preview Pow! You're In Love - The Falcons

  • 17 Preview A Change Is Gonna Come - Brenton Wood

  • 18 Preview Nobody Loves Me Like You - The Flamingos

  • 19 Preview Somebody Have Mercy - Willie Hightower

  • 20 Preview Win Your Love - Lou Rawls

  • 21 Preview The Smile - The Simms Twins

  • 22 Preview Good Times - Aretha Franklin

  • 23 Preview (Ain't That) Good News - The Supremes

  • 24 Preview Soothe Me - Sam & Dave

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector



Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought