Chartbusters Usa Vol 1 Various Artists (Chartbusters)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

There's a certain chemistry involved in the make-up of compilations - the dynamics of which are difficult to determine. These include discernment, dramatic use of tonal light and shade, an inherent understanding of the musical genres involved (including their relationship to one and other) and an intelligent approach to design.

These are the factors that have made Golden Age Of American Rock'n'Roll arguably the best-selling series of its kind and, for many, the only reliable way to purchase those treasured early American pop classics.

Using the same exacting criteria, this concept has now been logically extended into the mid to late-60s in the form of an exciting new series titled CHARTBUSTERS USA.

Unlike the majority of 60s hits compilations that have usually been thrown together randomly by some marketing department, CHARTBUSTERS USA functions both on a historical level and as a superlative listening experience. It is a proud thoroughbred in a market teeming with mongrel product. One glance at the track listing will tell you all you need to know.

Packed with 30 quintessential classics spanning 1964 - 1969 (most in stereo), it hangs together like a dream thanks to careful programming and Duncan Cowell's state-of-the-art mastering. The accompanying 20-page full-colour booklet looks good enough to eat. Furthermore, it's a great summer record and perfect windows-down in-car entertainment. Be in at the start!


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview She's About A Mover - Sir Douglas Quintet

  • 02 Preview Brown Eyed Girl - Van Morrison

  • 03 Preview Do You Believe In Magic? - The Lovin' Spoonful

  • 04 Preview Wooly Bully - Sam The Sham & The Pharaohs

  • 05 Preview I Fought The Law - The Bobby Fuller Four

  • 06 Preview Jenny Take A Ride! - Mitch Ryder & The Detroit Wheels

  • 07 Preview Games People Play - Joe South

  • 08 Preview Gimme Little Sign - Brenton Wood

  • 09 Preview Elusive Butterfly - Bob Lind

  • 10 Preview California Dreamin' - The Mamas & The Papas

  • 11 Preview Walk Away Renee - The Left Banke

  • 12 Preview G.T.O. - Ronny & The Daytonas

  • 13 Preview Working In The Coalmine - Lee Dorsey

  • 14 Preview I Can't Stand It - The Soul Sisters

  • 15 Preview Hi Heel Sneakers - Tommy Tucker

  • 16 Preview Treat Her Right - Roy Head

  • 17 Preview Eve Of Destruction - Barry McGuire

  • 18 Preview Hawaii Five-0 - The Ventures

  • 19 Preview Kicks - Paul Revere & The Raiders

  • 20 Preview Green Tambourine - The Lemon Pipers

  • 21 Preview On The Road Again - Canned Heat

  • 22 Preview Psychotic Reaction - Count Five

  • 23 Preview Pushin' Too Hard - The Seeds

  • 24 Preview Let It Out (Let It All Hang Out) - The Hombres

  • 25 Preview Soul Deep - The Box Tops

  • 26 Preview Remember (Walkin' In The Sand) - The Shangri-Las

  • 27 Preview The "In" Crowd - Dobie Gray

  • 28 Preview The Good, The Bad And The Ugly (Il Buono I Brutto Il Cattivo) - Hugo Montenegro

  • 29 Preview Expressway To Your Heart - The Soul Survivors

  • 30 Preview Dance To The Music - Sly & The Family Stone

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


This is 80 minutes worth of cruising heaven. ★★★★★


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought