Chartbusters USA: Special Sunshine Pop Edition Various Artists (Chartbusters)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1228

It really was no accident that the Sunshine Pop genre arose when it did. Its roots lay in the largely white post rock’n’roll pop era when writing and production teams had firmly established footholds on both coasts of America, and when recording studios were starting to offer more tracks than the hitherto very basic four. Around 1965, a glance at the US charts revealed that harmony vocals were one of the few genres to withstand the British onslaught, and geed by that success record companies were eager to put money behind one of the few areas where indigenous acts could still outdo the Britons.

Many took their cue unashamedly from Brian Wilson and the Beach Boys but, instead of the intensely West Coast outdoor themes and surfin' falsettos, began to develop sophisticated vocal themes that also drew from the rapidly changing folk market. In New York, the warmth of the Lovin' Spoonful's vocals and John Sebastian's songs opened the way for acts like the Critters and Spanky & Our Gang who utilised softer-voiced leads with gentler harmonic back-ups. It was an approach that was quickly recognised as commercial and taken up by existing acts: Bobby Vee being steered towards it at Liberty, and the East Coast's Tokens grasping the opportunities as both singers and producers.

So what would characterise a typical Sunshine Pop single? Firstly, the productions would be smoother and fuller than many previous records and, although traditional pop song verse/chorus formats were largely followed, there was much more room allowed for vocal harmony introductions, backgrounds and breaks, all of which was greatly enhanced by the arrival of eight track boards. The lyrical imagery was often sunny and outdoor, echoing the permanently hedonistic outlook of the Beach Boys, while the overall feel of a song would purposely try to evoke the languor and warmth of endless summer days.

The Turtles, who lead off our collection with ‘Happy Together’, had some of the biggest and most memorable West Coast Sunshine hits along with the Mamas & Papas, the 5th Dimension, Harpers Bizarre, the Sunshine Company and the Association. Many of the tracks here were sizeable US hits, but there is also lesser known cuts from the Peppermint Rainbow, Bobby Vee & The Strangers, Donovan and the Neon Philharmonic. The quality of all their recordings ensured that it would become a collectable genre, and the UK and Japan led the way in recognising the worth of material cut within a comparatively short time frame. This compilation sits proudly alongside Ace's other “Chartbusters USA” collections of more pop-orientated material from the middle years of the 60s.

We at Ace Towers will shortly be skipping out to the park with balloons and frisbees. Come and join us, or just conjure with that imagery! This collection will be the perfect soundtrack.

By Kingsley Abbott


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Happy Together - The Turtles

  • 02 Preview Younger Girl - The Critters

  • 03 Preview I Could Be So Good To You - Don & The Goodtimes

  • 04 Preview 98.6 - Keith

  • 05 Preview It's Getting Better - Mama Cass

  • 06 Preview Crystal Blue Persuasion - Tommy James & The Shondells

  • 07 Preview If You Don't Want My Love - Robert John

  • 08 Preview Darlin' - The Beach Boys

  • 09 Preview Wear Your Love Like Heaven - Donovan

  • 10 Preview Don't Wake Me Up in The Morning, Michael - The Peppermint Rainbow

  • 11 Preview Green Tambourine - The Lemon Pipers

  • 12 Preview A Girl Like You - The Young Rascals

  • 13 Preview Workin' On A Groovy Thing - The 5th Dimension

  • 14 Preview She Lets Her Hair Down - The Tokens

  • 15 Preview Grazing In The Grass - The Friends Of Distinction

  • 16 Preview Back On the Street Again - The Sunshine Company

  • 17 Preview Morning Girl - The Neon Philharmonic

  • 18 Preview Time For Livin' - The Association

  • 19 Preview Look At Me Girl - Bobby Vee & The Strangers

  • 20 Preview I Saw Her Again - The Mamas & The Papas

  • 21 Preview She Is Still A Mystery - The Lovin' Spoonful

  • 22 Preview Lazy Day - Spanky & Our Gang

  • 23 Preview The River Is Wide (UK edit) - The Forum

  • 24 Preview Anything Goes - Harpers Bizarre

  • 25 Preview Love (Can Make You Happy) - Mercy

  • 26 Preview The Rain, The Park And Other Things - The Cowsills

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Uplifting, joyous pop. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought