So Much Love: A Darlene Love Anthology 1958-1998 Various Artists (Artist Anthologies)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1169

It’s incredible to think that, in 2008, the unique and wonderful Darlene Love is celebrating her 50th anniversary as a recording artist. Since 1958, the extraordinarily talented Ms Love has provided the voice behind some of the most enduring songs ever to grace the AM radio band, and has been the featured vocalist on more than a few of rock’n’roll’s defining moments – most notably, as far as many would be concerned, ‘Christmas (Baby, Please Come Home)’ and her other seminal selections on Phil Spector’s “A Christmas Gift For You” album. Sadly, and although she’s also been a Crystal, a Blossom, a Rebelette, a Wildcat, a Young Cougar, a Pelican, a Blue Jean, a K-C-Ette and many other things to varying degrees of success, Darlene has never scored the kind of solo hit that an artist of her magnitude always deserves. But here at Ace we ‘Love’ Darlene to pieces, and we feel that it would be wrong to let half a century’s worth of contributions to the annals of rock’n’roll go by without a justified and deserved salute to such an important contributor.

“So Much Love” virtually spans Darlene’s entire recording career, from her first solo lead vocal on the Blossoms’ ‘No Other Love’ to a fairly recent rendition of ‘A Change Is Gonna Come’. In between, you’ll hear examples of her sessioneering in many of the previously mentioned ‘groups’, choice cuts from her lengthy career as, first, one fourth and then one third of the Blossoms, several of the many selections that she has recorded for soundtracks to hit films like Home Alone and Dick Tracy and – most excitingly for long time devotees – a previously unissued and, until very recently, virtually unheard example of her work as a demo singer, via her stunning performance of Jack Nitzsche and Jackie DeShannon’s ‘Let Him Walk Away’ – one of three tracks featured that have never been released until now, another being the drop dead gorgeous rendition of Goffin & King’s title track from the Blossoms’ Bill Medley produced sessions of the late 1960s.

Asssembled by Mick Patrick and myself with the approval and endorsement of Ms Love, it’s a tribute that no Darlene fan will be disappointed with. It was hard for Mick and me to settle on these 24 tracks, but we are sure that all fans will be as pleased with it as she is.

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview That's When The Tears Start - The Blossoms

  • 02 Preview Too Late To Say You're Sorry - Darlene Love

  • 03 Preview So Much Love - The Blossoms

  • 04 Preview The Gospel Truth - The Blossoms

  • 05 Preview King Of The Surf Guitar - Dick Dale & the Del Tones

  • 06 Preview No Other Love - The Blossoms with Eddie Beal's Orchestra

  • 07 Preview The Drummer Plays For Me - Hal Blaine & the Young Cougars

  • 08 Preview Good, Good Lovin' - The Blossoms

  • 09 Preview Boss Guitar - Duane Eddy & the Rebelettes

  • 10 Preview The Search Is Over - The Blossoms

  • 11 Preview 3625 Groovy Street - The Wildcats

  • 12 Preview Ooh-Wee Baby - Darlene Love

  • 13 Preview He's A Rebel - Moose & the Pelicans

  • 14 Preview What Are We Gonna Do In '64? - Al Casey & the K-C-ettes

  • 15 Preview Lover Boy - The Blossoms

  • 16 Preview TV Commercials - Barney Kessel

  • 17 Preview Let Him Walk Away - Darlene Love

  • 18 Preview I Gotta Tell It - The Blossoms

  • 19 Preview Something So Wrong - The Blossoms

  • 20 Preview Touchdown - The Blossoms

  • 21 Preview Mr Fix-It - Darlene Love

  • 22 Preview Cherish What Is Dear To You (While It's Near to You) - The Blossoms

  • 23 Preview All Alone On Christmas - Darlene Love

  • 24 Preview A Change Is Gonna Come - Darlene Love

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes




A wonderful showcase. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought