James Burton: The Early Years 1957-1969 Various Artists (Artist Anthologies)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1313

The story of James Burton’s early years told in this fine new compilation revolves around fast recognition of his talents by key US musicians who witnessed the teenager’s playing enhancing records with distinctive and memorable licks. A similar recognition occurred in far off North London in 1967 when I began to track down albums on which Burton featured for another precociously talented guitarist, Richard Thompson, who during the early days of Fairport Convention was soaking up so may diverse musical influences. Richard had heard Burton’s playing on some Rick Nelson tracks and enthusiastically asked if I could find as many of Rick’s albums on the Brunswick label as possible. Amongst the ones located were “Spotlight On Rick”, “For You”, “The Very Thought Of You” and possibly the cream of the crop, 1966’s “Bright Lights And Country Music”. It was on the latter that Burton was the only musician name-checked by Rick, a most unusual accolade at that time. Having listened to the album with Richard, a swift return to the shop quickly secured a second copy for my own collection.

James Burton’s story really kicked off with his distinctive playing on Dale Hawkins’ ‘Suzie-Q’ in 1957, though earlier work is included here. Soon after he worked with producer Jimmie Haskell on enhancing key tracks from Bob Luman and Bobby Lee Trammel, but the next step up came when Haskell introduced him to Rick Nelson. Burton was still only 17 in 1958, but immediately became the cornerstone for Rick’s road and recording band as he entered his halcyon hit days. Having such a strong back-up guitarist must have given the shy singer a great deal of added confidence. James Burton was to Rick Nelson as Scotty Moore was to Elvis, and Hank Marvin to Cliff Richard.

With his work with Rick Nelson came credibility within the recording industry, allowing Burton to fully develop a session career that was every bit as important. The 60s saw him working with Lee Hazlewood, the Everly Brothers, Merle Haggard and even Buffalo Springfield on Richie Furay’s ‘A Child’s Claim To Fame’. Along the way he found time to be part of the Shindogs, the house band for the Shindig TV show, and a brace of their released tracks are also included. As Burton acknowledges, it can be quite easy for fans to miss much of his prolific work, including as it did playing with artists such as Nat King Cole, Ray Charles, Sinatra and Elvis. This comp not only begins to tell the story, but also illuminates the darker corners via rare recordings that are so beloved of collectors. A second volume is planned that will take in Emmylou Harris, Gram Parsons and Elvis, but for now let’s marvel at Burton’s journey from Shreveport’s Louisiana Hayride house band in 1957 to the later 60s when he was fully established as the guitarist that everybody wanted in their corner.

By Kingsley Abbott


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Susie-Q - Dale Hawkins

  • 02 Preview Red Hot - Bob Luman

  • 03 Preview Shirley Lee - Bobby Lee Trammell

  • 04 Preview My Babe - Ricky Nelson

  • 05 Preview Cannonball Rag - James Burton

  • 06 Preview Don't Leave Me This Way - Ricky Nelson

  • 07 Preview The Creep - The Shadows

  • 08 Preview Stop Sneakin' Around - Ricky Nelson

  • 09 Preview Swamp Surfer - Jimmy Dobro

  • 10 Preview Make Up Your Mind Baby - Bob Luman

  • 11 Preview Fireball Mail - Jim & Joe

  • 12 Preview Blood From A Stone - Ricky Nelson

  • 13 Preview Real Live Fool - Lee Hazlewood

  • 14 Preview Daisy Mae - Jim & Joe

  • 15 Preview Everybody Listen To The Dobro - Jimmy Dobro

  • 16 Preview The Guitar Player (The Ballad Of James Burton) - Buddy Cagle

  • 17 Preview Jimmy's Blues - Jimmy Burton

  • 18 Preview Poor Boy Looking For A Home - The Green River Boys feat Glen Campbell

  • 19 Preview C.C. Rider - The Everly Brothers

  • 20 Preview Love Lost - Jimmy Burton

  • 21 Preview A Child's Claim To Fame - Buffalo Springfield

  • 22 Preview If You Want To Be My Woman - Merle Haggard

  • 23 Preview Moonshine - James Burton & Ralph Mooney

  • 24 Preview Corn Pickin' - James Burton & Ralph Mooney

  • 25 Preview Someday, Someday - The Shindogs

  • 26 Preview Why - The Shindogs

  • 27 Preview Just For A While - Carol Williams

  • 28 Preview Tryin' To Be Someone - David & Lee

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Finger-picking good. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought