The Golden Age Of American Rock'n'Roll: The Follow-Up Hits Various Artists (Golden Age Of American Rock and Roll)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1190

Here’s a great way to start the New Year. Ace’s Golden Age of American Rock’n’Roll series has proven to be extremely successful, having featured most of the significant records of the 1954-1963 era across its 11 volumes. Then there’s the sidebar strand of Special Editions covering Doo Wop, Novelty Records, Bubbling Under and Country. Now comes the latest theme, Follow Ups Hits.

Among the rockin’ highlights are teenage Bobby Freeman’s gloriously dumb Betty Lou Got A New Pair Of Shoes, a pounding rocker heavily influenced by Little Richard that danced into the Top 40 in 1958; Penny Loafers And Bobby Socks by Joe Bennett & the Sparkletones from the same year, an even better record than their hit debut Black Slacks; the raw-almost-to-the-point-of-punk Dance To The Bop, one of several Gene Vincent performances featured in the low-budget exploitation movie Hot Rod Gang; and The Bluebird, The Buzzard And The Oriole by Bobby Day, a song so similar to his previous hit, Rockin’ Robin, that it’s hard to tell where one starts the other ends. The Olympics’ (I Wanna) Dance With The Teacher was not a doppelganger for their previous hit, although it did serve as a model for several of their ensuing dance craze successes like Hully Gully and Baby, Do The Philly Dog.

As you’d expect from anything carrying the Golden Age brand, there is plenty of variety, so there are some great less up-tempo moments too, like Shy Girl, a gorgeous 1963 slowie by harmony specialists the Cascades; smoky-voiced Sammy Turner’s revival of Irving Berlin’s Always, built around a wonderful sax riff by King Curtis; This I Swear by the Skyliners, featuring Jimmy Beaumont, one of the most soulful blue-eyed vocalists of his time; and Te-Ta-Te-Ta-Ta by Ernie K-Doe, a tremendous Sam Cooke soundalike. K-Doe’s New Orleans compatriots Shirley & Lee enjoyed a long run of R&B hits, but very few of these crossed over to the pop market. One that did was I Feel Good, which followed their greatest hit Let The Good Times Roll into the Top 40 in 1956.

The most successful record of almost all of the artists featured on this CD is contained on the main Golden Age series (and the three that aren’t can be found on other Ace comps). Most Ace buffs worth his or her salt will know those 30 biggies, but fewer might be as familiar with some of the artists’ follow-up hits, although each one did reach the Billboard Hot 100. Many of them are first time on CD, or are so obscure that they are really hard to find on other current compilations. It’s that slight unfamiliarity that makes this latest Golden Age collection so good.

By Mick Patrick


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Rock And Roll Is Here To Stay - Danny & the Juniors

  • 02 Preview Betty Lou Got A New Pair Of Shoes - Bobby Freeman

  • 03 Preview (I Wanna) Dance With The Teacher - The Olympics

  • 04 Preview Magic Wand - Don & Juan

  • 05 Preview There Oughta Be A Law - Mickey & Sylvia

  • 06 Preview Always - Sammy Turner

  • 07 Preview Penny Loafers And Bobby Socks - Joe Bennett & the Sparkletones

  • 08 Preview Oh What A Fool - The Impalas

  • 09 Preview Like The Big Guys Do - The Rocky Fellers

  • 10 Preview Te-Ta-Te-Ta-Ta - Ernie K-Doe

  • 11 Preview I Feel Good - Shirley & Lee

  • 12 Preview Tear Drop - Santo & Johnny

  • 13 Preview Arrow Of Love - The Six Teens featuring Trudy Williams

  • 14 Preview Betty And Dupree - Chuck Willis

  • 15 Preview Dance To The Bop - Gene Vincent

  • 16 Preview That's My Little Suzie - Ritchie Valens

  • 17 Preview The Age For Love - Jimmy Charles

  • 18 Preview Some Kinda Fun - Chris Montez

  • 19 Preview Tell Me - Dick & Deedee

  • 20 Preview The Girl With The Story In Her Eyes - The Safaris

  • 21 Preview The Bluebird, The Buzzard And The Oriole - Bobby Day

  • 22 Preview Shy Girl - The Cascades

  • 23 Preview Laugh - The Velvets

  • 24 Preview This I Swear - The Skyliners

  • 25 Preview Do What You Did - Thurston Harris

  • 26 Preview No One Knows - Dion & the Belmonts

  • 27 Preview Fire Of Love - Jody Reynolds

  • 28 Preview I'll Take You Home - The Corsairs

  • 29 Preview California Sun - Joe Jones

  • 30 Preview Turvy II - Cozy Cole

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Brill. ★★★★


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought