Glitter And Gold: Words And Music By Barry Mann And Cynthia Weil Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1212

Having recently compiled the work of Goffin & King and Greenwich & Barry, it’s now time to spotlight the third in the trinity of great New York songwriting couples, Barry Mann & Cynthia Weil. As with the previous collections, “Glitter & Gold” – the latest in Ace’s writer series – is another hugely satisfying cornucopia of hits, obscurities and bona fide pop standards.

Barry Mann first met Cynthia Weil back in 1961, while both were serving their apprenticeship at Al Nevins and Don Kirshner’s Aldon Music publishing house. Hitting it off immediately, they penned their first composition together soon after and were wed before the year was over. Remarkably, over 45 years and 100-plus hits later, the couple are still together, both professionally and as husband and wife. Compiling a mere 26 song CD from this substantial portfolio brimming over with pop classics is certainly an unenviable task.

Having said that, is there a more perfect way of kicking off a Mann & Weil compilation – hell, any 60s pop compilation – than with Mama Cass Elliot’s peerless ‘It’s Getting Better’? This joyous celebration of the sweet contentment of love was one of three of the couple’s numbers brilliantly interpreted by Cass. Other gems to be cherry-picked by compilation guru Mick Patrick include Gene Pitney’s hit version of ‘I’m Gonna Be Strong’, B J Thomas’ take of ‘I Just Can’t Help Believing’ (pre-dating Elvis’ reading by a year) and the affecting social commentary of the Vogues’ ‘Magic Town’. Also included is the fabulous (and new-to-CD) ‘I’d Be So Good For You’ by Joanie Sommers, Bruce Johnston & Terry Melcher’s soaring and uplifting ‘Girl, It’s Alright Now’ and Donna Loren’s previously unissued ‘That’s The Boy’.

Cynthia’s intelligent and witty way with a lyric would often provide a social document of the times, while neatly sidestepping any hectoring or finger-pointing. This, together with the duo’s ability to move and adapt with the musical times – switching from brash girl group sounds (the Girls’ ‘Chico’s Girl’) to gritty city soul (‘Arthur Alexander’s ‘Where Have You Been’) to smooth soft pop (Nino Tempo & April Stevens’ ‘The Coldest Night Of The Year’) with consummate ease – always kept Mann & Weil ahead of the game. And though there was a two-year spell of separation in the 80s, they’ve more recently expanded their palette to include Broadway musicals and film soundtracks, while still continuing their run of sophisticated pop nuggets, as well as being honoured in 2000 as the writers of the most performed song of the 20th century for ‘You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’’. Their songbook is so deep and wide – and the standard of what is included so high – that you barely notice the absence of that song here.

What a legacy. Sample it here.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview It's Getting Better - Mama Cass

  • 02 Preview Kicks - Del Shannon

  • 03 Preview The Bossa Nova (My Heart Said) - Tippie & the Clovers

  • 04 Preview I'd Be So Good For You - Joanie Sommers

  • 05 Preview I'm Gonna Be Strong - Gene Pitney

  • 06 Preview Where Have You Been (All My Life) - Arthur Alexander

  • 07 Preview Hungry - Paul Revere & the Raiders

  • 08 Preview Please Don't Wake Me - The Cinderellas

  • 09 Preview It's A Happening World - The Tokens

  • 10 Preview Chico's Girl - The Girls

  • 11 Preview I Just Can't Help Believing - BJ Thomas

  • 12 Preview Brown Eyed Woman - Bill Medley

  • 13 Preview Girl, It's Alright Now - Bruce & Terry

  • 14 Preview Glitter And Gold - The Turtles

  • 15 Preview In The Park - The Drifters

  • 16 Preview Find Another Fool - The Marcels

  • 17 Preview Remember Me Baby - The Chiffons

  • 18 Preview Magic Town - The Vogues

  • 19 Preview That's The Boy - Donna Loren

  • 20 Preview The Coldest Night Of The Year - Nino Tempo & April Stevens

  • 21 Preview Where Do I Belong - Calvin Grayson

  • 22 Preview Let Me Walk With You - The 2 Of Clubs

  • 23 Preview She Is Today - Bergen White

  • 24 Preview It's Not Easy - The Sweet Inspirations

  • 25 Preview See That Girl - The Righteous Brothers

  • 26 Preview Make The Woman Love Me - Dion

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


This collection really does them justice. ★★★★

Record Collector

Top-drawer…they really don't write 'em like this any more. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought