Cliff Heard Them Here First Various Artists (Heard Them Here First)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1359

Although the majority of Cliff Richard’s hits have come with songs written expressly for him, or that he was the first to cut, the outside repertoire that he has recorded throughout his career has been more interesting than the choices of many of his contemporaries. Sir Cliff was not the only home-grown rocker to cover US material but, unlike his peers, he seldom went into a studio and simply made over the latest fast-rising American hit. With the help of his long time A&R man and producer Norrie Paramor, Cliff found a formidable number of fantastic songs hidden away on obscure US 45s and albums unavailable here.

Having previously celebrated the good taste in covers of his early hero in “Elvis Heard It Here First”, Ace felt it only fair to follow up with a companion volume that does likewise for the Peter Pan of pop. The tracks selected for “Cliff Heard Them Here First” show just how broad Cliff’s tastes were.  

Most of his early singles featured original songs, but the material on to his many albums was something else again. “Cliff Heard Them Here First” brings you the original versions of two dozen songs which found their way into Cliff’s discography, ranging from gospel-influenced R&B (Ruth Brown’s ‘Somebody Touched Me’) to rockin’ doo wop (the Jayos’ ‘Tough Enough’), and from ultra-obscure west coast teen pop (Pete Votrian’s ‘We Have It Made’) to a little known Elvis Presley track (‘Angel’).

The booklet reflects the importance of the music that’s preserved here, with copious notes, label shots and ephemera for each track. All but one is new to Ace CD and several of them have never been reissued before in any format. Although the majority of our tracks stem from the first ten years of Cliff’s recording career, there are also examples of songs that Cliff came across and recorded in the early 70s, which show that his ear for a good song and a great record have never deserted him.

These tracks have stood the test of time as well as Cliff’s own career. “Cliff Heard Them Here First” is our salute to the man and the great taste he showed in embracing these songs.

By Tony Rounce



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Schoolboy Crush - Bobby Helms

  • 02 Preview I'll Try - Conway Twitty

  • 03 Preview Razzle Dazzle - Bill Haley & His Comets

  • 04 Preview Apron Strings - Billy The Kid

  • 05 Preview Save My Soul - Jack Scott with The Chantones

  • 06 Preview The Night Is So Lonely - Gene Vincent & His Blue Caps

  • 07 Preview Pointed Toe Shoes - Carl Perkins

  • 08 Preview Somebody Touched Me - Ruth Brown & Her Rhythmakers

  • 09 Preview It'll Be Me (LP version) - Jerry Lee Lewis

  • 10 Preview We Have It Made - Pete Votrian

  • 11 Preview Tough Enough - Johnny Otis & Orchestra vocal by the Jayos

  • 12 Preview The Snake And The Bookworm - Richard Barrett

  • 13 Preview I'm Looking Out The Window - Peggy Lee

  • 14 Preview D In Love - Curtis Lee

  • 15 Preview Angel - Elvis Presley

  • 16 Preview I'm Afraid To Go Home - Brian Hyland

  • 17 Preview La La La La La - Little Stevie Wonder

  • 18 Preview A Forever Kind Of Love (UK version) - Bobby Vee

  • 19 Preview Look In My Eyes Maria - Jay & The Americans

  • 20 Preview The Minute You're Gone - Sonny James

  • 21 Preview When Blue Turns To Grey - Dick & Dee Dee

  • 22 Preview Hangin' On - The Gosdin Brothers

  • 23 Preview I'll Come Running - Neil Diamond

  • 24 Preview It's All Over - The Everly Brothers

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought