Radio Gold Various Artists (Radio Gold)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

Golden Oldies programmes and stations continue to be one of the broadcasting successes of the 80s and 90s. Following the pattern of similar successful operations in the USA, Golden Oldies offer a popular radio alternative to the standard pop music and phone-in shows. Frequently set up using the old AM frequency of the parent station (which then continues to broadcast on FM only), they originally developed as an economically cheap form of broadcasting (certified classics, little DJ input), but today, with their increased audiences of high-spending 30-and 40-somethings, have attracted leading DJs and heavy commercial support. "Radio Gold"- is your Ace Records call sign to the radio world of Golden Oldies. A 30 track compilation drawn from the wide range of catalogues available to Ace Records, it is a veritable Oldies Radio programmer's delight. From Johnnie Allan's "Promised Land" through to Tommy McLain's "Sweet Dreams", these tracks are non-stop radio classics. On the uptempo rock and rolling side, there's "La Bamba" (which many will first remember from the recent hit movie), "Dizzy Miss Lizzy", "Rockin' Robin", "Good Golly Miss Molly", all by the original artists. Smooch to the dulcet tones of Aaron Neville (of the famed Neville Brothers) and "Tell It Like it Is", "Hushabye" by The Mystics, The Skyliners "Since I Don't Have You" and many many more. From the 50s to the 60s to the 70s these sides are Radio Gold Dust and, as an added bonus, there's the first CD outing for Paul Evans 1978 radio smash "Hello, This ls Joannie". With this release. Ace, the UK's leading specialist reissue label celebrates the music and pays tribute to these Golden Oldies programmes and stations who have kept these wonderful sounds fresh and valid through regular airplay. Radio Gold is an all-purpose compilation for radio, car, parties, and for just the sheer enjoyment of great classic pop music.

Track listing

Side 1

  • 01
    The Promised Land - Johnnie Allan

  • 02
    La Bamba - Ritchie Valens

  • 03
    When The Boy's Happy (The Girl's Happy Too) - The Four Pennies

  • 04
    Wake Up Little Susie - The Everly Brothers

  • 05
    The Wanderer - Dion

  • 06
    My True Story - The Jive Five

  • 07
    Dizzy Miss Lizzy - Larry Williams

  • 08
    Mr Sandman - The Chordettes

  • 09
    I Fought The Law - The Bobby Fuller Four

  • 10
    Hushabye - The Mystics

  • 11
    Hello This Is Joannie - Paul Evans

  • 12
    Will You Love Me Tomorrow - The Shirelles

  • 13
    Where Or When - Dion & The Belmonts

  • 14
    Venus - Frankie Avalon

  • 15
    Sixteen Candles - The Crests

  • 16
    When Will I Be Loved - The Everly Brothers

  • 17
    One Fine Day - The Chiffons

  • 18
    Rockin' Robin - Bobby Day

  • 19
    Twist And Shout - The Isley Brothers

  • 20
    A Little Bit Of Soap - The Jarmels

  • 21
    I'll Come Running Back To You - Sam Cooke

  • 22
    Earth Angel (Will You Be Mine) - The Penguins

  • 23
    Runaround Sue - Dion

  • 24
    Goodnight My Love - Jesse Belvin & Group

  • 25
    Since I Don't Have You - The Skyliners

  • 26
    Good Golly, Miss Molly - Little Richard

  • 27
    Poetry In Motion - Johnny Tillotson

  • 28
    Denise - Randy & The Rainbows

  • 29
    Tell It Like It Is - Aaron Neville

  • 30
    Sweet Dreams - Tommy McLain

Delivery & Returns

We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews

comments powered by Disqus

Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought

© Ace records 2012-2016