Flip Doo Wop Vol 2 Various Artists (Flip)


Doo Wop
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Flip Doo Wop Vol 2 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

FLIP DOO WOP VOLUME 2 takes us into the middle years of the Flip label's vocal group output. With the majority of the sides coming from the late 50s, this compilation is a mix of the dreamy ballads, upbeat tunes and novelty items that typified the doo wop mixture of the day.

>Label mainstay Richard Berry is represented under his own name backed by the Pharoahs on three tracks, but as was quite common at the time, they also assumed another name for a record on the same label. They chose the name the Cyclones for this release and the true identity of the group is one of the reasons why their coupling of My Dear / Do You Love Me is highly sought after. Volume 2 also includes high-priced items from Arthur Lee Maye backed by an un-named group on 'Cause You're Mine Alone / Hey Pretty Girl as well as the Dukes' coupling of Looking For You backed with the novelty Groceries Sir! When complete, the Flip Doo Wop series should provide a treat for the collector in search of those hard to find sides. Volume 1 featured what is arguably the rarest record on the label, the Rhythm Masters' Patricia / Baby We Too and there's more in store for Volume 3 which will include the King Bees' Give Me Your Number / Pretty Love and the Maharajahs' Sweet Loretta / Oh Shirley. Two tracks are released for the first time on this CD - a lovely track from Arthur Lee Maye and his group and a track from the previously unknown group the Rainiers. As usual, the male vocal groups are balanced by girl- and mixed-group sounds from Trudy Williams & The Six Teens, the Dreamers and the Lockettes.

Flip's roster of artists included many groups who wrote their own songs - on this compilation items by the Maharajahs, Donald Woods & the Velaires and the Lockettes were penned by group nembers. Even though this was the case, what is remarkable is the degree of reliance that Flip's Max Feirtag placed on just two writers - Richard Berry himself and Ed Wells of the Six Teens. As Gordon Skadberg points out in his notes - "Berry wrote most of the material for the Pharaohs (aka Cyclones), Dreamers, Lockettes, and Arthur Lee Maye. Ed Wells wrote almost all of the Six Teens songs as well as the Ivy Leaguers, Emotions, and Jimmie Smith tunes (planned for Ace CD FLIP DOO WOP VOLUME 3). Indeed, over half of the songs on this CD were written by these two gifted song writers!"

by Peter Gibbon


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Why Don't You Answer - The Maharajahs

  • 02 Preview My Dear - The Cyclones

  • 03 Preview You're The Girl - Richard Berry & The Pharaohs

  • 04 Preview Arrow Of Love - Trudy Williams & The Six Teens

  • 05 Preview Heaven In My Arms - Donald Woods & The Vel-Aires

  • 06 Preview Puddin' Pie - The Lockettes

  • 07 Preview Looking For You - The Dukes

  • 08 Preview Tell Me Darling - Arthur Lee Maye & Group

  • 09 Preview I Do Believe - The Maharajahs

  • 10 Preview Where You Been So Long - The Rainiers

  • 11 Preview Groceries, Sir - The Dukes

  • 12 Preview Since You've Been Gone - The Dreamers {later released as by Jennell Hawkins & The Dreamers }

  • 13 Preview Mighty Joe - Donald Woods & The Vel-Aires

  • 14 Preview Teenage Promise - Trudy Williams & The Six Teens

  • 15 Preview Hey Pretty Girl - Arthur Lee Maye

  • 16 Preview I'll Never Ever Love Again - Richard Berry & The Pharaohs

  • 17 Preview You Don't Want Me - The Lockettes

  • 18 Preview Deposit Your Love (In The Bank Of My Heart) - Richard Owens & The Ivy Leaguers

  • 19 Preview 'Cause You're Mine Alone - Arthur Lee Maye

  • 20 Preview Do You Love Me - The Cyclones

  • 21 Preview Do Not Forget - The Dreamers {later released as by Jennell Hawkins & The Dreamers }

  • 22 Preview Somewhere There's A Rainbow - Richard Berry & The Pharaohs

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought