Gospel At Newport Various Artists (Vanguard)


Catalogue Id:
VCD 77014

The Newport Folk Festival provided a platform for many strands of music: folk, blues, topical songs and gospel. The common link between these varied forms was that they were all music of the people, rather than Tin Pan Alley or “industry” music. This fascinating 19-track collection gathers some of the biggest names of gospel who appeared at the festival between 1959 and 1966. Black gospel acts were often spotlighted during the evening concerts and were also heavily involved with Sunday morning workshop sessions, proving quite a revelation toNewport’s predominately white audiences.

Amongst the earlier tracks here are the Reverend Gary Davis, who sings an energetic ‘Samson And Delilah’ accompanied by some great guitar work, and the Reverend Alex Bradford with the Stone Temple Baptist Church Singers with a similarly powerful ‘Highway To Heaven’. These were recorded at the first 1959 festival, but many of the tracks here date from 1966, a year when there were several gospel acts booked to appear. Amongst them were the Swan Silvertones and the Dixie Hummingbirds, who open with the exciting ‘Christian’s Automobile’. Also from 1966 are three songs from Dorothy Love Coates & the Original Gospel Harmonettes. The spiritual tradition is represented by Bessie Jones and Janie Hunter singing ‘You Better Mind’, while the links between blues and gospel are illustrated by the inclusion of Son House’s rhythmic ‘John The Revelator’. Son had been brought to the festival to be part of the blues workshops, but as a preacher fitted in well with the gospel aspects of the occasion. Distinct rhythms were also a central part of ‘See God’s Ark A-Moving’ by the Moving Star Hall Singers. Festival favourites the Freedom Singers, known for their activism as well as their music, sing the well-known ‘This Little Light’. Also included are two acts who went on to find mainstream success: the Chambers Brothers, who show their roots with ‘Just A Closer Walk With Thee’, and the Staple Singers, who close the set with ‘Pray On My Child’.

This is by any standards a powerful and engaging album, with good explanatory notes documenting a rich aspect of the famed Newport Folk Festival where so many strands of socially important music came together for open-minded listeners. We are lucky to have it all so well represented by albums such as this and the others in the Vanguard series.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Christian's Automobile - Dixie Hummingbirds

  • 02 Preview Only Believe - Swan Silvertone Singers

  • 03 Preview Keep Your Lamp Trimmed And Burning - Rev Pearly Brown & Mrs Christine Brown

  • 04 Preview Gonna Lay Down My Sword And Shield - Joseph Spence

  • 05 Preview Swing Down Chariot - Dorothy Love Coates & The Original Gospel Harmonettes

  • 06 Preview Jesus Hear My Prayer - Swan Silvertone Singers

  • 07 Preview I've Got So Much To Shout About - Dixie Hummingbirds

  • 08 Preview Trouble In The Land - Dorothy Love Coates & The Original Gospel Harmonettes

  • 09 Preview You Better Mind - Bessie Jones & Janie Hunter

  • 10 Preview See God's Ark's A-Moving - Moving Star Hall Singers

  • 11 Preview What A Time - Rev Pearly Brown & Mrs Christine Brown

  • 12 Preview Highway To Heaven - Rev Alex Bradford & The Stone Temple Baptist Church Singe

  • 13 Preview Samson And Delilah - Reverend Gary Davis

  • 14 Preview This Little Light - The Freedom Singers

  • 15 Preview John The Revelator - Son House

  • 16 Preview Ev'ry Day Will Be Sunday By And By - Dorothy Love Coates & The Original Gospel Harmonettes

  • 17 Preview Just A Closer Walk With Thee - Chambers Brothers

  • 18 Preview Oh Mary, Don't You Weep - The Swan Silvertones

  • 19 Preview Pray On My Child - The Staple Singers

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought