Hung On You - More From The Gerry Goffin & Carole King Songbook Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1427

Music publisher Max Dreyfus, the dean of New York City’s Tin Pan Alley, once said, “Always take care of your writers. Without them you are nothing.” Dreyfus knew a good songwriter when he heard one – Richard Rodgers, George Gershwin and Cole Porter, to name but three – and we like to think we at Ace do too, although we specialise in a more recent era.

This bumper collection of numbers penned by revered New Yorkers Gerry Goffin and his wife Carole King includes familiar hits (the Shirelles’ ‘What A Sweet Thing That Was’, Bobby Vee’s ‘Sharing You’, the Cookies’ ‘Will Power’, the Drifters’ ‘When My Little Girls Is Smiling’, etc), overlooked gems (the Hondells’ ‘Show Me Girl’, the Hearts & Flowers’ ‘Road To Nowhere’, Walter Jackson’s ‘Anything Can Happen’) and some new-to-CD rarities (‘You Turn Me On Boy’ by the Honey Bees, the Orlons’ ‘Keep Your Hands Off My Baby’, the Clovers’ ‘The Sheik’ and Theola Kilgore’s ‘It’s Gonna Be Alright’).

By 1968 Carole and Gerry had moved from the East Coast and were living apart in Los Angeles, where Carole formed the group the City. ‘Snow Queen’ (heard here in a rare version by the Tokens) and ‘That Old Sweet Roll (Hi-De-Ho)’ (here by Dusty Springfield, one of the Goffins’ biggest champions), were among the six Goffin and King songs on “Now That Everything’s Been Said”, the City’s album. After their divorce, Carole and Gerry did resume writing together, although much less prolifically than before.

In a poll of the top songwriting teams of the 1960s, there’s a strong chance Goffin and King would win the vote. This is the fourth volume of their work we have released. That’s over 100 songs, with no drop in quality – proof if needed that the couple were among the most consistently excellent exponents of their craft.

Mick Patrick


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Hung On You - The Righteous Brothers

  • 02 Preview That Old Sweet Roll (Hi-De-Ho) - Dusty Springfield

  • 03 Preview Road To Nowhere - The Hearts & Flowers

  • 04 Preview Don't Let Me Stand In Your Way - Skeeter Davis

  • 05 Preview You Turn Me On Boy - The Honey Bees

  • 06 Preview What A Sweet Thing That Was - The Shirelles

  • 07 Preview Will Power - The Cookies

  • 08 Preview This Little Girl - Dion

  • 09 Preview The Sheik - The Clovers

  • 10 Preview Am I The Guy - Tony Orlando

  • 11 Preview Show Me, Girl - The Hondells

  • 12 Preview Sharing You - Bobby Vee

  • 13 Preview When My Little Girl Is Smiling - The Drifters

  • 14 Preview Randy - Earl-Jean

  • 15 Preview Anything Can Happen - Walter Jackson

  • 16 Preview It's Gonna Be Alright - Theola Kilgore

  • 17 Preview Where Does Love Go - Freddie Scott

  • 18 Preview Please Hurt Me - Little Eva

  • 19 Preview So Many Lonely People - Henry Alston

  • 20 Preview Don't You Want To Love Me - Connie Stevens

  • 21 Preview Keep Your Hands Off My Baby - The Orlons

  • 22 Preview No One Ever Tells You - The Crystals

  • 23 Preview The Boy From Chelsea - Truly Smith

  • 24 Preview Snow Queen - The Tokens

  • 25 Preview Sometime In The Morning - The American Breed

  • 26 Preview So This Is How It Feels - The Countrymen

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought