Live It Up! Bayswater Beat Girls 1964-1967 Various Artists (Beat Girls)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1550

Ever since Brit Girls became a recognised collecting genre and compilations started appearing in the 1990s, the young women who recorded for Decca, EMI and Pye in the 60s have been well-represented; the Philips ladies less so. With “Live It Up! Bayswater Beat Girls 1964-1967”, Ace restores the balance by focusing on neglected female pop gems that originated from Stanhope House in Stanhope Place, Bayswater, London W2: the address of the UK arm of Philips Records and its associated labels, Fontana and Mercury.

Once Dusty Springfield became a chart regular, the Philips group of labels, in common with all the other companies of the period, readily climbed aboard the beat girl bandwagon, signing up more local female talent, hungry to discover the next Cilla, Sandie, Lulu or Marianne. And they came from near and far. In terms of geography, “Live It Up!” splits the talent fairly equally between lasses from London and the South-East, and young misses from the Midlands and the North: and just to variegate the mix even further, there are inclusions from relocated American, Jamaican and South African-born gals.

Along with hand-picked tracks by familiar names such as Madeline Bell, Kiki Dee, Susan Maughan and, of course, Dusty herself, “Live It Up!” includes a host of gems by lesser-known artists. Angelina, for example, delivers two prime examples of the baroque Phil Spector-meets-folk rock sound that makes records by Vashti, Zouzou and Judi Smith so sought after by avid collectors these days. That’s just two highlights of many on this gorgeously packaged 25-track collection, which comes with a bumper booklet featuring scarce photos and ephemera, an introduction by genre-expert Ian Chapman and a 5000-word track commentary by compiler Mick Patrick.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Live It Up - Dusty Springfield

  • 02 Preview I Really Got Carried Away - Madeline Bell

  • 03 Preview By My Side - Sharon Tandy

  • 04 Preview So Little Time - Diana Dors

  • 05 Preview I Just Don't Know How - Angelina

  • 06 Preview With A Kiss - Kiki Dee

  • 07 Preview 32nd Love Affair - Friday Brown

  • 08 Preview I Like A Man - The Caravelles

  • 09 Preview Make Him Mine - Susan Maughan

  • 10 Preview My Street - Millie

  • 11 Preview Heartbeat - Dusty Springfield

  • 12 Preview Please Go Away - Marilyn Powell

  • 13 Preview Chasing My Dream All Over Town - Jenny Wren

  • 14 Preview Keep On Lovin' Me - The Kaye Sisters

  • 15 Preview You Beat Me To The Punch - Karol Keyes

  • 16 Preview How Can I Be Sure? - The Caravelles

  • 17 Preview Small Town - Kiki Dee

  • 18 Preview Born A Woman - Friday Brown

  • 19 Preview The Music Attracts Me - Clare Torry

  • 20 Preview Eeny Meeny - Ayshea

  • 21 Preview No-One Can Take Your Place - Karol Keyes

  • 22 Preview Girls Like Boys - Ethna Campbell

  • 23 Preview Wishin' My Life Away - Angelina

  • 24 Preview The Thought Of You - Jenny Wren

  • 25 Preview Love Makes The World Go Round - Sharon Tandy

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought