Living In The Streets Vol 3: Bustin' Outta The Ghetto Various Artists (Living In The Streets)


Catalogue Id:
BGP2 151

This product is also available in these versions:
Living In The Streets Vol 3: Bustin' Outta The Ghetto, CD (£12.56)

Once more into the breach as BGP gathers up the best streetwise funk and soul rarities from deep in the crates. BUSTING OUT OF THE GHETTO explores the music of black urban America in a 12 year period from the mid 60s. It stretches from the gritty sophistication of soul jazz small groups, through street funk and into the first flowerings of a new culture, called hip hop, that would define the next phase of black music. This period was the last time that the mainstream American music industry would allow the independent labels to dictate the way. After this the majors would control distribution and any label that looked like it meant business would be swallowed up.

This album collects together a whole bunch of rarities and in-demand items that would set you back several wallets full of cash for the original issue singles. Highlights include Peace, Love Not War by the Fatback Band - their debut 45 from 1969 - a great tune that has never before been reissued-.-the single sells on original for over $1000-.-Billy Hawks' Ooh Baby as sampled recently by US3-.-three tracks from Paul Winley's label including the first rap recording Vicious Rap and the Mighty Tom Cats' great version of Dance Girl. On top of these we have awesome funk from Carlos Malcolm and Winfield Parker, soulful jazz from Pat Bowie and Lorez Alexandria and an unreleased gem by Spanky Wilson. Add to this an obscure San Francisco funk version of the deep funk classic I'm A Good Woman and it's clear you should hear this compilation!

By Dean Rudland


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Bustin' Outta The Ghetto - Carlos Malcolm

  • 02 Preview I'm A Good Woman - The Generation

  • 03 Preview O'Baby (I Believe I'm Losing You) - Billy Hawks

  • 04 Preview Dance Girl - The Mighty Tom Cats

Side 2

  • 01 Preview You Gotta Believe - Fatback

  • 02 Preview Soul Makossa - The Mighty Tom Cats

  • 03 Preview Vicious Rap - Tanya Winley

Side 3

  • 01 Preview Mary Jane - Bobby Rush

  • 02 Preview The Truth Shall Make You Free - King Hannibal

  • 03 Preview Peace, Love Not War - Johnny King and the Fatback Band

  • 04 Preview Starvin' - Winfield Parker

  • 05 Preview He Called Me Baby - Spanky Wilson

Side 4

  • 01 Preview Seeds Of Life - East LA Car Pool

  • 02 Preview Viva! (Viva Tirado) - Jade

  • 03 Preview I've Known Rivers - Gary Bartz Ntu Troop

  • 04 Preview I'm Wishin' - Lorez Alexandria

  • 05 Preview Feeling Good - Pat Bowie with Charles McPherson

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought