Living In The Streets Various Artists (Living In The Streets)


Catalogue Id:
BGP2 130

Over the past few years Dean Rudland's name has become synonymous with quality compilations that have skilfully mined the deep seams of 60s and 70s American jazz. This time he's put together 15 tracks that place themselves squarely on the 70s sidewalks of big city America. It was time when funk grooves and in particular 'breaks' were beginning to be stretched out by DJs no longer content to play three minute singles. The dancers wanted more and, at, first enterprising jocks would mix two 7"s together until eventually one club favourite, Ultra High Frequency's We're On The Right Track made it onto the now cherished 12" format. On the other side of the street, dance-floor friendly extended jazz workouts had been in vogue long before the arrival of the 12" single and it's these, bolstered by Hammond organ and wah wah guitar that provide the thread to this selection.

Opening with Isaac Hayes' faithful, yet fuller, interpretation of the Bill Withers' classic Use Me we then move to the first of three previously unreleased tracks, Tami Lynn's take on Light My Fire. Just when I thought the world needed another version of this like Aston Villa needed another Stan Collymore, what sounds like a demo kicks off confidently with a sample-worthy intro before giving way to Lynn's vocal and a warm acoustic guitar-led groove. Caesar Frazier's established jazz dance classic Mighty Mouse builds beautifully around organ and brass whilst elsewhere You finds Spanky Wilson's distinctive vocals riding rough-shod over a funky guitar and bold brass backing. Houston Person's Sweet Buns & Barbeque and the Pazant Brothers' Loose & Juicy instrumental jazz cuts both perfectly demonstrate how far funk had permeated the basement jazz clubs.

Meanwhile around another corner we find Cal Tjader's vibes tackling the Rolling Stones' Gimme Shelter admirably. Ripple's I Don't Know What it Is But It Sure Is Funky may lack lyrical inspiration but the combination of vocal chants over a tight backing have made this a dance favourite since the 'Rare Groove' scene resurrected it in the 80s. The jazz blues of Dave Hamilton's previously unreleased instrumental Marriage Is A State Of Vibes provides welcome respite from Idris Muhammad's power-house rhythms on Brother You Know You're Doing Wrong whilst the Fatback Band's Mister Bass Man signals the party hasn't quite finished in Rudland's yard. Add to this Preston Epps explosive instrumental Afro-Mania and it's clear you should try and get to hear this compilation.

By Johnny Chandler


Track listing


Side 1

Side 2

  • 01 Preview You - Spanky Wilson

  • 02 Preview Loose And Juicy - Pazant Brothers

  • 03 Preview Sweet Buns And Barbeque - Houston Person

  • 04 Preview One Monkey Can't Stop The Show - Jacqueline Jones

Side 3

  • 01 Preview Gimme Shelter - Cal Tjader

  • 02 Preview I Don't Know What It Is, But It Sure Is Funky - Ripple

  • 03 Preview Brother You Know You're Doing Wrong - Idris Muhammad

  • 04 Preview Marriage Is A State Of Vibes - Dave Hamilton

Side 4

  • 01 Preview Mister Bass Man - The Fatback Band

  • 02 Preview Chili Mac - Preston Love

  • 03 Preview Afro-Mania - Preston Epps

  • 04 Preview New Beginning - Sonny Constanzo Big Band

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought