Lost Soul Gems From Sounds Of Memphis Various Artists (XL Records)


Modern Soul
Catalogue Id:

Sometimes surprises can be good.

It has been nearly six years since Alec Palao and myself locked ourselves away in Ardent Studios in Memphis for a week of tape copying, to get everything we had found in the Sounds Of Memphis vault into a useable form. It was a weak of hard work, fun and lunches at the Blue Monkey, from which we came away with a lot of good music. By last year, seven or so albums’ worth of material down the line, we thought we had released everything that we could. Then Linda Lucchesi, guardian of the catalogue, told us that she had found some acetates and more tapes. Not holding out much hope for the quality, we headed back to Memphis to hear what was there. It was amazing; more tracks by Willie Bollinger, a session from Rudolph Taylor, unreleased tracks by Vision and Louis Williams and an acetate with previously unheard Barbara & the Browns – at least a couple of CDs’ worth of material stretching from the mid-60s through to the mid-80s.

It is an absolute pleasure to hear two more tracks from Barbara & the Browns. One is an alternate take of her Cadet single ‘I Don’t Want To Have To Wait’ and the other is a slab of prime Memphis soul titled ‘So Cruel’. The Willie Bollinger tracks offer us further insight into this under-recorded vocalist, and it is an absolute treat to get our hands on a Charles Chalmers-produced session on Rudolph Taylor, who was previously thought to have only recorded just one single.

From the 70s, we offer up very rare 45s by Carl Sims and Otis Wheat from the Wet Paint label, plus some incredible unreleased material by Billy Cee & the Freedom Express, Fran Farley and Marjorie Ingram. We also have the earliest version of Vision’s ‘Play The Game’ and a Dan Greer solo track which is sublime. The Louis Williams cut is verging on disco, but it is incredible to hear his voice on a previously unknown track. George Jackson produces his own single ‘Things Are Getting’ Better’, for which we’ve finally found a tape, and is also behind the desk for the Jacksonians’ version of ‘Vehicle’.

Our final titles from the 1980s demonstrate that although soul music had changed – it was no longer regional – good music was still being recorded. Demetrius later made an album for Motown, while Erma Shaw had earlier released a single on Hi.

I can happily say we have plenty more lined up from this bastion of Memphis soul. Sounds Of Memphis: a gift that keeps on giving.

By Dean Rudland


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Pity A Fool - Carl Sims

  • 02 Preview I Don't Want No One Way Love - Dan Greer

  • 03 Preview Tennessee Waltz - Otis Wheat

  • 04 Preview Save My Love - Billy Cee & The Freedom Express

  • 05 Preview Stop Boy - Fran Farley

  • 06 Preview What's That You Got - Rudolph Taylor

  • 07 Preview So Cruel - Barbara & The Browns

  • 08 Preview I Can't Fight It No Longer - Carroll Lloyd

  • 09 Preview Your Arms Around Him - William Bollinger

  • 10 Preview Big City Lights - Rudolph Taylor

  • 11 Preview I Don't Want To Have To Wait (Alt) - Barbara & The Browns

  • 12 Preview Teardrops - William Bollinger

  • 13 Preview Take A Look At Another Fool - Marjorie Ingram

  • 14 Preview Things Are Gettin' Better - George Jackson

  • 15 Preview Vehicle - The Jacksonians

  • 16 Preview Play The Game (Version 2) - Vision

  • 17 Preview Play The Game (Pt 2) - Vision

  • 18 Preview Stars Are Out Tonight - Louis Williams

  • 19 Preview Make It Easy On Yourself - Demetrius (Dee Harvey)

  • 20 Preview Mr Candyman - Erma Shaw

  • 21 Preview When I Look Inside - Takelia Kelly

  • 22 Preview It's Hard To Say No - George Jackson and Linda Lucchesi

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought