Psychedelic Soul - Produced By Norman Whitfield Various Artists (Producer Series)


Modern Soul
Catalogue Id:

Here is the first-ever compilation dedicated to the distinctive and influential productions of Norman Whitfield. You’ll find all-time classics such as Marvin Gaye’s ‘I Heard It Through The Grapevine’, the Temptations’ ‘Papa Was A Rolling Stone’ and Rose Royce’s ‘Love Don’t Live Here Anymore’, alongside lesser-known soul gems from the 70s.
Compiled by Bob Stanley, who also put together the acclaimed, big-selling Thom Bell “Ready Or Not” set, it’s the perfect introduction to Whitfield’s work. Atmospheric, cinematic things like Rare Earth’s ‘Come With Me’ sit alongside floor-fillers such as David Ruffin’s wild ‘Me And Rock & Roll (Are Here To Stay)’.
Whitfield started out at Motown and worked up to his instantly recognisable, dark, orchestrated sound. By the turn of the 70s he was the king of ‘psychedelic soul’, a genre that he basically invented, selling millions of records along the way. He was responsible for the Temptations’ second wave of hits, including party classic ‘Psychedelic Shack’. Whitfield concentrated on the Undisputed Truth, a group he put together and kept in his roster when he started his own Whitfield label in 1975.
“Psychedelic Soul” is an illuminating cross-selection from Norman Whitfield’s exceptional career.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I Heard It Through The Grapevine - Marvin Gaye

  • 02 Preview The Look Of Love - Gladys Knight & The Pips

  • 03 Preview Psychedelic Shack (Single version with intro) - The Temptations

  • 04 Preview I Saw You When You Met Her - The Undisputed Truth

  • 05 Preview War - Edwin Starr

  • 06 Preview Ooh Boy - Rose Royce

  • 07 Preview It Should Have Been Me - Yvonne Fair

  • 08 Preview Me And Rock & Roll (Are Here To Stay) - David Ruffin

  • 09 Preview Papa Was A Rollin' Stone (Single version) - The Temptations

  • 10 Preview Good Lovin' (Album version) - Mammatapee

  • 11 Preview You + Me = Love (Single version) - The Undisputed Truth

  • 12 Preview Love Is What You Make It - Masterpiece

  • 13 Preview I've Been Waitin' (Single version) - Spyder Turner

  • 14 Preview And All Hell Broke Loose - Willie Hutch

  • 15 Preview Love Don't Live Here Anymore - Rose Royce

  • 16 Preview Wishing On A Star - Jr Walker

  • 17 Preview Just One Love - Stargard

  • 18 Preview Come With Me (Single version) - Rare Earth

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought