The Studio Wizardry Of Todd Rundgren Various Artists (Producer Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1609

When it comes to music, Todd-of-all-trades might be more appropriate than the traditional Jack to signify a man of many talents. Unlike Jack, though, Rundgren is a master of them all.

Twenty-year-old Todd Rundgren first came to attention in 1968 as the precociously talented leader of Nazz who could write memorable songs and play guitar “just like ringing a bell”, as Chuck was once wont to say. Initially he was unsure about his vocal capabilities, but by the time he had gone solo and released his breakthrough third album, “Something / Anything”, in 1972, it was clear that he had tonsils to match his prodigious songwriting and musical skills. He not only wrote, arranged, sang and produced the whole double album but even played all of the instruments on three sides of the release.

By this time he was ensconced as Albert Grossman’s whiz kid producer at the entrepreneur’s newly built Bearsville Studio near Woodstock. Rundgren had swiftly built up a reputation as a hot shot fixer after flying to London to rescue Badfinger’s “Straight Up” album from its year-long production problems. He turned it around on budget and within two weeks. Even more impressive was when Grossman negotiated a $50,000 fee for Rundgren to produce Grand Funk Railroad’s “We’re An American Band” album – an unheard of sum in 1973 – which instantly catapulted him to the status of star producer as well as yielding a brace of #1 hits for the band.

“The Studio Wizardry of Todd Rundgren” traces his long journey from his early days at the board of Hollywood’s ID Sound Studio, to his long stay at Bearsville, to his own self-built Secret Sound Studio in New York, his own Utopia Studio in the Catskill Mountains, and then on to Sausalito, where he produced several artists in the San Francisco Bay area. Rundgren’s restless nature and diverse tastes are reflected in our choices with a wide-ranging mix of music and artists, and naturally he also contributes his own musical and compositional skills to many of the tracks.  

The productions themselves are selected from across the years 1970 to 1990, drawn from Rundgren’s long career at the top during the golden age of recording when tape machines, bricks and mortar studios and a winning producer were the things that really mattered.

Dave Burke



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Open My Eyes - Nazz

  • 02 Preview Jet Boy - New York Dolls

  • 03 Preview Heaven's Falling - Cheap Trick

  • 04 Preview Frederick - Patti Smith Group

  • 05 Preview Dear God - XTC

  • 06 Preview You're Much Too Soon - Daryl Hall & John Oates

  • 07 Preview We're An American Band - Grand Funk Railroad

  • 08 Preview Long Times Gone - Felix Cavaliere

  • 09 Preview Baby Blue - Badfinger

  • 10 Preview So Kind - Jill Sobule

  • 11 Preview L-5 - New England

  • 12 Preview The Girl - The Rubinoos

  • 13 Preview One Night Stand - Janis Joplin

  • 14 Preview She's So Young - The Pursuit Of Happiness

  • 15 Preview Long Road Home - Fanny

  • 16 Preview Fa La Fa Lee - Sparks (Halfnelson)

  • 17 Preview Piece By Piece - The Tubes

  • 18 Preview Something Warm - Rick Derringer

  • 19 Preview I Don't Mind At All - Bourgeois Tagg

  • 20 Preview Midnight Sun - Dragon (Hunter)

  • 21 Preview Goodbye - The Psychedelic Furs

  • 22 Preview Love Is The Answer - Utopia

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought