Songs Of Light & Darkness Written By Leonard Cohen Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1624

“I’ve never gotten over the pleasure of someone covering one of my songs, which probably stems from coming up as a folksinger where it was understood that songs develop a patina through interpretation. I feel that’s the mark of excellence,” Leonard Cohen once said. Of all the CDs we have released since 2018, “Hallelujah: The Songs Of Leonard Cohen” (CDTOP 1544) is the best seller. By popular demand, here’s our second selection of Cohen covers, including versions of two songs never recorded by the man himself.

It was the poems of his hero, Federico García Lorca, that gave Cohen permission to write. Not to imitate Lorca’s style or content, but to pick up a gauntlet that had been thrown down. Alongside Lorca, he found inspiration in folk and country, songs of solidarity, songs of survival in the face of oppression. Yet there were earthier reasons why Cohen wrote, and particularly why he augmented his first loves, poetry and prose, with songwriting and performing. Just as murder is mostly committed for passion or money, so Cohen became a singer-songwriter in large part because of these twin motivations. In the former he was certainly successful. As regards the latter, his life as a singer-songwriter meant he was able to live far more comfortably than on his poetry and fiction alone.

However, songwriting was an arduous endeavour for him. ‘Hallelujah’, for example, took over four years to write – during which time about 80 verses were discarded. The reason was because he felt a kind of crippling perfectionism. He was fully aware he could write reasonable, even good songs with far less effort, but listening back to them made his inner critic recoil in horror. The effect of his fastidiousness often meant a heady layering effect on the listener, like a cross-section of the earth’s structure, with serious digging needed to get to the original intent. His consummate skill in rhetorical and literary devices, his knowledge of religious doctrine and ceremony, his willingness to include profanity and sexually explicit imagery, and of course his black humour all combine to make his songs unlike any other. This is one of the reasons that his songs have been so in-demand from serious musical talents, and why Ace Records’ second volume of Cohen’s songs is as rich as the first. Just as he found Lorca’s poetry a touchstone for himself, the artists on here seem to take up Leonard Cohen not to copy him, not even to emulate him, but to find their own voice from the considerable challenge he sets them.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Hallelujah - k.d. lang

  • 02 Preview Anthem - Father John Misty

  • 03 Preview The Gypsy's Wife - Patricia O'Callaghan / The Gryphon Trio

  • 04 Preview The Stranger Song - Emmylou Harris

  • 05 Preview Here It Is - Jonathan Richman

  • 06 Preview You Know Who I Am - Mama Cass

  • 07 Preview Is This What You Wanted - The Last Shadow Puppets

  • 08 Preview Nightingale - Anjani

  • 09 Preview Blue Alert - Madeleine Peyroux

  • 10 Preview A Thousand Kisses Deep - Ann Wilson

  • 11 Preview Show Me The Place (orchestrated version) - The Webb Sisters

  • 12 Preview Story Of Isaac - Judy Collins

  • 13 Preview Joan Of Arc - Anna Calvi

  • 14 Preview There Are Some Men - Crouch End Festival Chorus

  • 15 Preview Priests - Richie Havens

  • 16 Preview So Long, Marianne - Noel Harrison

  • 17 Preview Closing Time - Fairport Convention

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought