Snapshot In Time Various Artists (Snapshot In Time)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1623

Back in September 1962, the only Beatles records in the shops saw them backing Tony Sheridan on a goosed-up version of My Bonnie, Their debut single Love Me Do would be released in October 1962 and the seismic change they brought to music worldwide would occur once the band achieved light speed in 1963. There was, however, before Beatlemania a thriving music culture that dropped anchor in a number of ports. Proto pop charts might be dominated by the likes of Cliff and his Shadows, crooners and sweet looking pop idols who brushed their teeth but R&B was gently finding its way into record racks either through imports or a growing number of home grown cover versions. The Motown sound was taking root in Detroit, America and already filtering into the UK on poor selling 7” singles on London and Fontana.

The twist might be considered an old dance but in political circles no one twisted in the wind harder than John Profumo undone in 1961 for a triangular relationship where the other two parties were Christine Keeler and a Russian spy.  Politicians and the establishment lived by the dictum of do what I say rather than what I do. Until they got caught with their pants down. This was a situation Patrick McGoohan in Danger Man always avoided although after 1963 part of James Bond appeal on the big screen was his ability to drop his pants and bed Russian spies.

To say that before the Beatles, before the Stones, before the Who, before the blues explosion there was no good music being recorded in the UK is untrue. There was plenty of great records put out in 1960, 1961 and 1962. You simply had to find the gems.

The problem with the Beatles, and the coverage of their music, was that it built a musical dam that formed a reservoir that covered previous audio hills that were submerged by time and history. Why care about Otillie Patterson singing the blues when you had Please Please Me? Why care about Chris Farlowe’s Air Travel when you had I Want To Hold Your Hand? Whereas 50 years later Beatles music is endlessly recycled, much of the music recorded between 1960 and 1963 remains ignored and submerged under water. But, as you will discover on A Snapshot in Time there were some cracking gems like the Blue Flames R&B swagger of Orange Street, Lynne Cornell’s Moanin’ and Sounds Inc Sounds Like Locomotion. Better still, they sound fresh and invigorating showing that the 60s swung earlier than everybody would have you believe.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Sugar Baby Part 1 - Jimmy Powell

  • 02 Preview Sugar Baby Part 2 - Jimmy Powell

  • 03 Preview When You Walked Out - Alex Murray with The Tony Crombie Quartet

  • 04 Preview Baby Please Don't Go - Ottilie Patterson accompanied by Sonny Boy Williamson

  • 05 Preview Why Should We Not - Manfred Mann

  • 06 Preview Chicago Calling - Cyril Davies & His Rhythm & Blues All Stars

  • 07 Preview King Of Kings - Jimmy Cliff

  • 08 Preview Air Travel - Chris Farlowe

  • 09 Preview It Ain't Necessarily So (From "Porgy and Bess") - Duffy Power

  • 10 Preview Sounds Like Locomotion - Sounds Inc.

  • 11 Preview Dance Her By Me - Jimmy Powell

  • 12 Preview Gurney Slade (from "The Strange World of Gurney Slade) - Max Harris & His Group

  • 13 Preview Moanin' - Lynn Cornell

  • 14 Preview Tom Hark - Jimmy Powell

  • 15 Preview Christine - Miss X

  • 16 Preview A New Kind of Lovin' - Eden Kane

  • 17 Preview I'm Just A Baby - Louise Cordet

  • 18 Preview Orange Street - The Blue Flames

  • 19 Preview I'm Built For Comfort - Alexis Korner's Blues Incorporated vocal Long John Baldry

  • 20 Preview Angi (aka Anji) - Davy Graham

  • 21 Preview Strawberry Fair - Anthony Newley

  • 22 Preview Country Line Special - Cyril Davies & His Rhythm & Blues All Stars

  • 23 Preview Wicked Woman - Don Lang & His Boulder Rollers

  • 24 Preview Theme From ‘Danger Man' - The Red Price Combo with Orchestra

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Customers who bought this item also bought