Jon Savage's 1980-1982 The Art Of Things To Come Various Artists (Jon Savage)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP2 1625

Ace are delighted to continue with Jon Savage’s highly respected year-by-year series documenting the music scene on a world stage, which began with a volume based on his successful 1966 book for Faber.

A genre-spanning two-disc array of pivotal singles, extended mixes, context-providers, scene-stealers and lost gems from disco, b-boy, new wave, rap, indie and synth: these are the decks that defined the dawn of the 80s, captured the mood and crystallised Jon’s personal experiences of these years. Artists include the Associates, Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five, the Human League, Grace Jones, New Order, Yello, the Peech Boys and Zapp

Living in Manchester, working for Granada TV in tandem with Tony Wilson and spinning discs at Joy Division and New Order gigs, this was a time where clubs were key for Jon. It’s no surprise that this is the first volume where 12-inch singles make their mark in the series.

The 80s began with Thatcher in power, the rise of the New Right in America and the death of Ian Curtis, but by 1982 the world was travelling out of post-punk darkness into the light of a bright new decade. It was beginning of the art of things to come.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Underground - The Bizarros

  • 02 Preview Twist And Crawl - The Beat

  • 03 Preview Candy-O - The Cars

  • 04 Preview These Days - Joy Division

  • 05 Preview Simple Stuff - Echo & The Bunnymen

  • 06 Preview Our Love (12-inch version) - Donna Summer

  • 07 Preview The Apartment - Giorgio Moroder

  • 08 Preview She's Lost Control - Grace Jones

  • 09 Preview Faith - Manicured Noise

  • 10 Preview Whip It - Devo

  • 11 Preview More Bounce To The Ounce - Zapp

  • 12 Preview I Travel - Simple Minds

  • 13 Preview Flight (12-inch version) - A Certain Ratio

  • 14 Preview Dirty Back Road - The B-52's

  • 15 Preview Euthenics - Modern Eon

  • 16 Preview Too Many Creeps - Bush Tetras

  • 17 Preview How We Gonna Make The Black Nation Rise? (12-inch version) - Brother "D" with Collective Effort

  • 18 Preview Hello Operator...I Mean Dad...I Mean Police...I Can't Even Remember Who I Am - Was (Not Was)

  • 19 Preview Mack The Knife - The Psychedelic Furs

  • 20 Preview Home Is Where The Heart Is (12-inch version) - Public Image Ltd

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Poor Old Soul Pt 2 - Orange Juice

  • 02 Preview Primary (12-inch version) - The Cure

  • 03 Preview The Sound Of The Crowd - The Human League

  • 04 Preview Pictures - Josef K

  • 05 Preview Everything's Gone Green (12-inch version) - New Order

  • 06 Preview Bostich (12-inch version) - Yello

  • 07 Preview Message Oblique Speech (12-inch version) - The Associates

  • 08 Preview Bedsitter (12-inch version) - Soft Cell

  • 09 Preview Adventures Of Grandmaster Flash On The Wheels Of Steel (12-inch version) - Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five

  • 10 Preview Art On 45 (12-inch version) - Royal Family And The Poor

  • 11 Preview Hydraulic Pump Pt 2 (12-inch version) - P-Funk All Stars

  • 12 Preview Planet Rock - Afrika Bambaataa & The Soul Sonic Force

  • 13 Preview We're So Cool - Au Pairs

  • 14 Preview Don't Make Me Wait (12-inch dub mix) - Peech Boys

  • 15 Preview My City Was Gone - Pretenders

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought