Jon Savage's 1965-1968 - The High Sixties On 45 Various Artists (Jon Savage)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
XXQLP2 060

Spread over four sides of two 33rpm 12-inch albums, this is a love letter to the 7-inch single.
Since 2016, author Jon Savage has collaborated with Ace Records in a mapping of the mid-to-late 60s in terms of 45rpm singles. We began with 1966 and time stretched backwards and forwards over 96 songs and four double CDs – one collection per year between 1965 and 1968.
We did discuss releasing the series on LP format but each compilation would have needed a triple album. So, by way of a résumé, we’ve decided to compress the four years into one year per side: beginning in early 1965 and ending in very late 1968. The intention is to give a flavour of each CD compilation, and an idea of their reach across the two albums.
You’ll also find songs that have not been released on any official vinyl album before, including the single version of ‘Rain’ by Kak, the overdubbed ‘People! Let’s Freak Out’ by the Freaks Of Nature and the preview pressing of the MC5’s ‘Kick Out The Jams’, to name but three.
Pressed on 180g orange vinyl, housed in a heavy-duty gatefold jacket, with copiously illustrated track notes on the inner bags. 


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview That's The Way It's Got To Be - The Poets

  • 02 Preview Incense - The Anglos

  • 03 Preview Nobody Knows What's Goin' On (In My Mind But Me) - The Chiffons

  • 04 Preview Agent Double-O-Soul - Edwin Starr

  • 05 Preview Too Many People - The Leaves

  • 06 Preview London Town - The Pretty Things

  • 07 Preview Hey Gyp (Dig The Slowness) - Donovan

  • 08 Preview We Sell Soul - The Spades

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Bad Little Woman - The Wheel-A-Ways

  • 02 Preview The Other Place - The Seeds

  • 03 Preview Walkin' My Cat Named Dog - Norma Tanega

  • 04 Preview Help Me (Get The Feeling) Pt 1 - Ray Sharpe with The King Curtis Orchestra

  • 05 Preview Along Comes Mary - The Association

  • 06 Preview Sock It To Em JB Pt 2 - Rex Garvin & The Mighty Cravers

  • 07 Preview Tell Me That You Love Me - James Brown & The Famous Flames

  • 08 Preview People! Let's Freak Out - The Freaks Of Nature

  • 09 Preview The Hunter Gets Captured By The Game  - The Marvelettes

Side 3

  • 01 Preview Never Ever - The Action

  • 02 Preview Take Me In Your Arms And Love Me - Gladys Knight & The Pips

  • 03 Preview I'm Five Years Ahead Of My Time - The Third Bardo

  • 04 Preview Mr Soul - The Buffalo Springfield

  • 05 Preview Hold On - Sharon Tandy

  • 06 Preview At The Third Stroke - The Picadilly Line

  • 07 Preview Slim Jenkin's Place - Booker T & The MG's

  • 08 Preview The Music Goes Round My Head - The Easybeats

Side 4

  • 01 Preview Danse A La Musique - The French Fries

  • 02 Preview Wonderboy - The Kinks

  • 03 Preview I Say A Little Prayer - Aretha Franklin

  • 04 Preview Rain - Kak

  • 05 Preview Lord Of The Manor - The Everly Brothers

  • 06 Preview Train To Nowhere - Savoy Brown

  • 07 Preview Kick Out The Jams (Preview Pressing) - MC5

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought