Jon Savage's 1968 - The Year The World Burned Various Artists (Jon Savage)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP2 1536

A genre-spanning 2CD mix of hit singles, slow burners and lost gems, including the first-ever official release of the preview pressing of ‘Kick Out The Jams’ by the MC5. The 45s that defined 1968 and crystallised author Jon Savage’s memories of the year.
1968 began with business as usual in the pop charts, but the year would see convulsive political and social changes. This turmoil would be replicated in the music industry, where the effects of 1967 were seen in a proliferation of musical styles and social attitudes. The old days of a unified, central Top 40 were gone, and in its place came a new energy that transformed pop into rock, ska into rocksteady and early reggae, and soul into funk.
Jon’s selections for this year oscillate between soul, funk, Americana, pop-psych and hard-edged rock. With the loss of pirate radio after March, he heard of many of these either by scouring the record bins in central London or picking up tips from the music and the underground press. Some are later discoveries but the aim is to construct an ideal playlist that simulates a top radio show, without all the populist choices and extraneous filler – a more radical and faster-moving soundtrack for an inflammatory year.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Honey Chile - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas

  • 02 Preview Sunshine Help Me - Spooky Tooth

  • 03 Preview How Does It Feel To Feel - The Creation

  • 04 Preview Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In) - The First Edition

  • 05 Preview Dear Delilah - Grapefruit

  • 06 Preview Carpet Man - The 5th Dimension

  • 07 Preview Big Bird - Eddie Floyd

  • 08 Preview Tighten Up - Archie Bell & The Drells

  • 09 Preview Changes (TYGSTL) - The Ceyleib People

  • 10 Preview Everydays - The Buffalo Springfield

  • 11 Preview Talkin' About The Good Times - The Pretty Things

  • 12 Preview Just For You - Dave Mason

  • 13 Preview Danse A La Musique - The French Fries

  • 14 Preview Israelites - Desmond Dekker & The Aces

  • 15 Preview Why Does It Feel So Right (Doing Wrong) - The Shades Of Jade

  • 16 Preview Wonderboy - The Kinks

  • 17 Preview Gotta See Jane - R Dean Taylor

  • 18 Preview Do You Know The Way To San Jose - Dionne Warwick

  • 19 Preview Classical Gas - Mason Williams

  • 20 Preview Your Mind And We Belong Together - Love

  • 21 Preview Dino's Song - Quicksilver Messenger Service

  • 22 Preview World In A Jug - Canned Heat

  • 23 Preview Lift Me - The Beau Brummels

  • 24 Preview The Snake - Al Wilson

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Fire! - The Crazy World Of Arthur Brown

  • 02 Preview Hard To Handle - Otis Redding

  • 03 Preview Eastern Organ - Brother Dan All Stars

  • 04 Preview People Got To Be Free - The Rascals

  • 05 Preview I Say A Little Prayer - Aretha Franklin

  • 06 Preview Piece Of My Heart - Big Brother & The Holding Company

  • 07 Preview Lord Of The Manor - The Everly Brothers

  • 08 Preview Lincoln County - Dave Davies

  • 09 Preview Omnibus - The Move

  • 10 Preview I'm In A Different World - Four Tops

  • 11 Preview Say It Loud! - I'm Black And I'm Proud (Pt 1) - James Brown

  • 12 Preview Rain - Kak

  • 13 Preview A Song For Jeffrey - Jethro Tull

  • 14 Preview Magic Carpet Ride - Steppenwolf

  • 15 Preview Freedom Train - James Carr

  • 16 Preview Smell Of Incense - The West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band

  • 17 Preview Cloud Nine - The Temptations

  • 18 Preview Train To Nowhere - Savoy Brown

  • 19 Preview Everyday People - Sly & The Family Stone

  • 20 Preview I Got A Line On You - Spirit

  • 21 Preview Throwaway Street Puzzle - Fairport Convention

  • 22 Preview Crimson And Clover - Tommy James & The Shondells

  • 23 Preview Machines - Lothar & The Hand People

  • 24 Preview Kick Out The Jams (Preview Pressing) - MC5

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought