Jon Savage's 1972-1976 Various Artists (Jon Savage)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP2 1594

A guided tour through five years of rock in its many variants: power pop, pub rock, glam, krautrock, punk etc – reflecting the fertility of the time. A 44-track double CD with 28-page booklet.

Continuing Jon Savage’s critically acclaimed series of compilations for Ace, which began in 1966 to soundtrack his Faber book of the same name/year, Jon’s musical journey is now firmly entrenched in the 1970s and all the rock variants you can shake a stick at. This double CD covers five full years of rocking out, watching our beloved, familiar rock’n’roll morph its way into power pop, glam rock, pub rock, krautrock and punk rock. Even the hippies were finding their teeth and plugging in their guitars. Many of the chart acts had, in one form or another, been around since the mid-60s and they adapted their core aesthetic for the new era, and with this volume, we find the young punk-to-be Jon settling into his tribe and his stride. 

In his ongoing quest to define the era these compilations cover, Jon does not follow the accredited pre-punk timelines but aims to reflect the fertility of the years between 1972 and 1976. It moves from Californian decadence (Little Feat, the re-formed Byrds) through quirky Brit rock (the Move), through the Flamin’ Groovies, Iggy & the Stooges, into one major trend of the times, power pop – aka what would the Beatles sound like if they were still going?

And speaking of whom, in a very rare coup, Apple have allowed John Lennon and Yoko Ono to feature on a compilation and are nestled here with pride. We pass through one-offs like Andy Pratt’s astonishing, pro-feminist ‘Avenging Annie’ into glam’s long tail (Roxy Music, Sparks, Eno and Suzi Quatro) and then street rock outliers like the Hammersmith Gorillas and the role our very own Rock On played in the story.

1975 is when reality hits, with the stripped viciousness of Dr. Feelgood and Murray Head’s regretful address to a derelict and destroyed country. The Count Bishops and the Hot Rods speed up pub rock, while the Ramones crash in to take the prize. Nick Lowe reminds us that there was life before punk and Pere Ubu point to post-punk before it’s hardly started. As always, to be continued… 


Track listing


Side 1

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Girl From Germany - Sparks

  • 02 Preview You Really Got Me - The Hammersmith Gorillas

  • 03 Preview The Man Who Couldn't Afford To Orgy - John Cale

  • 04 Preview Hey Joe (Version) - Patti Smith

  • 05 Preview Third Uncle - Eno

  • 06 Preview Kings Of Speed - Hawkwind

  • 07 Preview I Don't Mind - Dr. Feelgood

  • 08 Preview After Eight - Neu

  • 09 Preview Red Temple Prayer (Two Headed Dog) - R. Ericson & Bleibalien

  • 10 Preview Roadrunner - Jonathan Richman

  • 11 Preview Say It Ain't So Joe - Murray Head

  • 12 Preview Radioactivity - Kraftwerk

  • 13 Preview Final Solution - Pere Ubu

  • 14 Preview Blitzkreig Bop - Ramones

  • 15 Preview Max's Kansas City '76 Pt 1 - Wayne County & The Backstreet Boys

  • 16 Preview Cherry Bomb - The Runaways

  • 17 Preview X Offender - Blondie

  • 18 Preview Horseplay (Weary Of The Schmaltz) - Eddie & The Hotrods

  • 19 Preview Keys To Your Heart - The 101'ers

  • 20 Preview (Don't Fear) The Reaper - Blue Oyster Cult

  • 21 Preview Heart Of The City - Nick Lowe

  • 22 Preview Train, Train - The Count Bishops

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought