Mainstream Modern Soul 2 1969-1976 Various Artists (Mainstream Records)


Modern Soul
Catalogue Id:

High quality 70s soul from a professional and inspired soul stable.

The Mainstream family of labels was a major source of black music through the early and mid-70s. Owner Bob Shad was primarily a jazz producer but had enough nous and appreciation of soul music to go with current trends. His in-house arrangers included veteran hit-maker Bert DeCoteaux, fellow jazzer Wade Marcus and the up-and-coming Patrick Adams.Adams’ production on Chapter Three’s ‘I’ll Never Be The Same’ is soul with an early disco beat, and Chocolate Syrup’s uptempo ‘You’ve Got A Lot To Give’ is of a similar ilk.

Mainstream had several great harmony vocal groups – Special Delivery, the Steptones and Eleventh Commandment all contribute excellent examples of the genre. ‘Oh My Love’, the rarely seen or heard flip of Almeta Lattimore’s ‘These Memories’, sounds equally haunting and is one of several great Detroit productions co-opted onto Mainstream. Others include McArthur’s very soulful ‘I’ll Never Trust Love Again’, Charles Beverly’s ‘Grass Ain’t Greener’ and the Steptones’ ‘Your Love Is Like The Rising Sun’. Charles Colbert is a mystery artist whose Mainstream tape of ‘Slow Down World’ debuts here, while Sugar Billy Garner recorded for the Fast Track subsidiary four years after his New Day recording of ‘I Got Some’.

Shad clearly dug southern soul and licensed in tracks from Lee Bates, Lenny McDaniel and Randolph Brown; he even issued a southern ballad by Count Willie & The Dukes. The jazz influence can be felt mainly from female singers Ellerine Harding, Nia Johnson and Alice Clark – all of whom benefited from Mainstream’s jazz track record. Jeany Reynolds made an impressive debut on Mainstream some years before her disco hits as Jeannie, while veteran New York balladeer Lenny Welch offers the neglected ‘When There’s No Such Thing As Love (It’s Over)’. Collectively, the 23 tracks here maintain Mainstream’s quality 70s soul reputation.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Grass Ain't Greener - Charles Beverly

  • 02 Preview You Can Be Cured - Randolph Brown & Company

  • 03 Preview Come Back With Your Love Pt 1 - Special Delivery

  • 04 Preview You've Got A Lot To Give - Chocolate Syrup

  • 05 Preview I'll Never Be The Same Pt 1 - Chapter Three

  • 06 Preview Oh My Love - Almeta Lattimore

  • 07 Preview I'll Never Trust Love Again - McArthur

  • 08 Preview When There's No Such Thing As Love (It's Over) - Lenny Welch

  • 09 Preview Your Love Is Slipping Away - Lee Bates

  • 10 Preview Please Don't Set Me Free - Jeany Reynolds

  • 11 Preview Never Did I Stop Loving You - Alice Clark

  • 12 Preview Let Her Know - Bobby Earl Williams

  • 13 Preview I Know Something You Don't Know - Ellerine Harding

  • 14 Preview You Are The Spice Of My Life - Nia Johnson

  • 15 Preview I've Got To Tell You - Count Willie with LRL & The Dukes

  • 16 Preview I've Been Trying To Love You - Lenny McDaniel & The Last Nikle

  • 17 Preview Love Bug - Sugar Billy

  • 18 Preview You'll Do It - Calvin Arnold

  • 19 Preview Today Or Never - Eleventh Commandment

  • 20 Preview Your Love Is Like The Rising Sun - Steptones

  • 21 Preview Where There's A Will (There's A Way) - Terry Huff

  • 22 Preview Slow Down World - Charles Colbert

  • 23 Preview Everyone Has Someone - Linda Perry

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes




Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought