The Message. Soul, Funk And Jazzy Grooves From Mainstream Records Various Artists (Mainstream Records)


Modern Soul
Catalogue Id:

Bob Shad’s Mainstream Records is one of the great unsung US independent labels of the 60s and 70s. Shad, who made his name as an executive at Mercury, set up on his own in the early 60s and debuted Mainstream a few years later. Over the next decade the imprint covered jazz, latin, psychedelic rock, soul and funk. In recent months, across the various Ace labels, we have started to focus on the Mainstream repertoire. We’ve done our bit at BGP with the deep jazz compilation “A Loud Minority” and the Alice Clark “Complete Studio Recordings” CD, both greatly enhanced by wonderful photographs from the Mainstream archive.

Our latest release is “The Message: Soul, Funk And Jazzy Grooves From Mainstream Records”, which looks into the wide variety of club-based cuts that appeared on the label in the early to mid-70s. It takes in the full range from organ jazz, via deep funk instrumentals, to amazing female vocalists belting out dance floor classics. Some of these records have been sampled and are considered collector’s items. Many come from obscure 45s or albums that have rarely if ever been reissued.

The collection opens with Chubukos, a team of crack New York session musicians whose ‘House Of Rising Funk’ is a funk classic much loved by old school hip hoppers as a DJ tool. They also appear as Afrique with an astounding version of ‘Soul Makossa’ that gives the Manu Dibango version a run for its money. Other out and out funk grooves are present in the form of the Funky Boys’ instrumental ‘I Need Somebody’ and the Delegates’ obscure Hammond grind ‘Funky Butt’. Blue Mitchell and Charles Kynard offer jazz interpretations of funk classics by Cymande, Joe Quarterman and Aretha Franklin – recordings that really sound fantastic turned up loud. Dave Hubbard delivers a smooth funk take on the Staple Singers’ ‘Respect Yourself’ and the extended jazz funk of ‘Patience’, while Charles Williams gives us two chunks of gritty organ and horn-based groove.

Groovy funk-soul is served up by Ellerine Harding with two cuts from her hard to find “Ellerine” album, including the raucous ‘All I Need’, and Maxine Weldon’s version of ‘Grits Ain’t Groceries’ is stunning. We’ve also included Alice Clark’s magnificent dance floor winner ‘Never Did I Ever Stop Loving You’, Sarah Vaughan’s supremely chilled take on Marvin Gaye’s ‘Inner City Blues’ and label boss Bob Shad’s big band tackling the Jackson 5’s ‘I Want You Back’ in an outrageous style.

By Dean Rudland


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview House Of Rising Funk - Chubukos

  • 02 Preview The Message - Blue Mitchell

  • 03 Preview Funky Butt - The Delegates

  • 04 Preview To Whom It May Concern (All I Need) - Ellerine Harding

  • 05 Preview Never Did I Stop Loving You - Alice Clark

  • 06 Preview I Want You Back - Bobby Shad & The Bad Men

  • 07 Preview Soul Makossa - Afrique

  • 08 Preview So Much Trouble In My Mind - Charles Kynard

  • 09 Preview I Need Someone (Instrumental) - Linda Perry & Soul Express

  • 10 Preview Grits Ain't Groceries (All Around The World) - Maxine Weldon

  • 11 Preview The Spirit - Curtis Fuller

  • 12 Preview Booger Bear - Charles Williams

  • 13 Preview Rock Steady - Charles Kynard

  • 14 Preview Respect Yourself - Dave Hubbard

  • 15 Preview Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) - Sarah Vaughan

  • 16 Preview I Know Something You Don't Know - Ellerine Harding

  • 17 Preview Patience - Dave Hubbard

  • 18 Preview Bacon Butt Fat - Charles Williams

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes





Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought