One In A Million: The Songs Of Sam Dees Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Modern Soul
Catalogue Id:

Surely the greatest endorsement for any songwriter is the calibre of artists who record their compositions. Sam Dees can boast cuts on acts such as the Temptations, Johnnie Taylor, Gladys Knight & the Pips, Millie Jackson, Jackie Wilson and other upper echelon soul stars. Having previously issued two CDs of Sam’s recordings, we felt he was overdue for an entry in our Songwriter series. The aptly titled “One In A Million” is exactly that.

The CD takes its title from what is probably his most commercially successful song, thanks to Larry Graham’s chart-topping recording from 1980, and covers Sam’s career from the late 1960s through to the mid-80s. Whittling his catalogue down to a representative 22 songs was a challenge and a half. Many of the artists featured, such as Loleatta Holloway and John Edwards, returned to Sam’s songbook again and again, while others drew from it only once or twice. The common denominator between them is they all recognised a great song when they heard it.

There’s a preponderance of titles from the period Sam’s most ardent admirers seem to like best, the mid-70s, but we’ve not neglected the early 80s, when his compositions were recorded by some of the biggest names in soul and records bearing his name under the title were starting to sell in their millions.

The only disappointment for Sam’s fans is his career as a singer has always been somewhat fragmented due to the demand for his songs. As a demonstration of his vocal greatness we have included his 1977 recording of ‘My World’, a song he performs so definitively that it’s hardly surprising to find his is the only version.

“One In A Million” presents the sublime songs of Sam Dees in performances that will live on in the hearts and collections of his army of fans. Some will be better known than others, but all will surely be admired and cherished in the same way the man who wrote them is.

By Tony Rounce



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview My World - Sam Dees

  • 02 Preview Stop This Merry-Go-Round - John Edwards

  • 03 Preview Girl Overboard - Dorothy Moore

  • 04 Preview Your Love Is Like A Boomerang - Corey Blake

  • 05 Preview A Woman's Way - Rozetta Johnson

  • 06 Preview Vanishing Love (UK remix) - The Chi-Lites

  • 07 Preview Cry To Me - Esther Phillips

  • 08 Preview Standing In The Wings Of A Heartache - Ted Taylor

  • 09 Preview Just As Soon As The Feeling's Over - Jackie Wilson

  • 10 Preview Changes - Clarence Carter

  • 11 Preview I Betcha Didn't Know That - Frederick Knight

  • 12 Preview Run To Me - Sidney Joe Qualls

  • 13 Preview Mess On Your Hands - Millie Jackson

  • 14 Preview Good Guys Don't Always Win - Ray Crumley

  • 15 Preview So Your Love Finally Ran Out For Me - Les McCann

  • 16 Preview The Show Must Go On - Loleatta Holloway

  • 17 Preview What A Way to Put It - The Temptations

  • 18 Preview Spoiled By Your Love - Anita Ward

  • 19 Preview Where Did We Go Wrong - L.T.D

  • 20 Preview Save The Overtime (For Me) - Gladys Knight & The Pips

  • 21 Preview Seconds Of Your Love - Johnnie Taylor

  • 22 Preview One In A Million You - Larry Graham

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A fine tribute. ★★★★


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought