Memphis 70: The City's Funk And Soul In The Decade After Otis 1968-1978 Various Artists (States & Regions)


Modern Soul
Catalogue Id:

Memphis’ location on the border of three states and the Mississippi River, means it has been a hub for a couple of hundred years now. It is also an incredibly inventive place – the home of the first supermarket, Federal Express and the Holiday Inn, as well as rock’n’roll. In the field of black music the city had been critical as a centre for blues and R&B, really making its mark throughout the 60s and 70s. Otis Redding, Sam & Dave and the mighty Stax label put the Memphis sound on the map, raw and gritty. In the late 60s, after the death of Otis Redding, there was a determined effort to keep the sounds of Memphis relevant and it became the music’s most successful period.

MEMPHIS 70 hones in on a group of labels to bring you a selection of incredible sounds. It covers the spectrum of soul, funk, and instrumental grooves and by digging deep into the vaults we’ve discovered unissued gems as well as some very sought after rarities.

These include Smithtonian’s Mississippi Mud, an expensive 45 on Stax’s Enterprise label that is popular with funk collectors, as is Stacey Lane’s one single for the BAR label – a gritty groovy little cut, that is terribly obscure. Lillian Hale’s one 45 on Fretone is a sure fire dancefloor slice of sister-funk and Willie Tolliver’s Papa Killed A Chicken would be very in-demand if only it wasn’t so obscure. We have some great soul as well, including John Gary Williams masterful Come What May and Mel and Tim’s Keep The Faith.

It is the unreleased cuts where this album reaches heights unattainable elsewhere offering an almost secret history of Memphis soul. For instance it has been suggested that David Porter had lost his muse by the early 70s, yet with cuts such as I Can’t Tell No Difference in the can this seems far fetched. We also have a couple of incredible soul tunes from the Sounds Of Memphis vaults, one by the greatly under-recorded Willie Walker, and another by former Stax artist Art Jerry Miller. SOM is also where we found a brilliant take on Aretha Franklin’s Pullin’ by the Minits and the Ovations doing an insanely funky version of Sam Cooke’s Shake. A personal favourite of mine is a version of Who’s Been Warming My Oven (James Carr / Spencer Wiggins) recorded by Sir Walter in an Al Green style from 1975.

Memphis 70 is a veritable trip through an obscure part of Memphis soul. We aim to keep walking this path

By Dean Rudland

NB: Look out for our Ovations featuring Louis Williams CD “One In A Million” that includes their SOM / XL recordings coming late March on Kent CDKEND 294.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Mississippi Mud - Smithstonian

  • 02 Preview I Can't Tell No Difference - David Porter

  • 03 Preview Two Paces Ahead Of Love - Willie Walker

  • 04 Preview Pullin' - The Minits

  • 05 Preview Strange Things - Art Jerry Miller

  • 06 Preview Shake - The Ovations

  • 07 Preview No Ending - Stacy Lane

  • 08 Preview Tip Toeing - Alvin Cash

  • 09 Preview It's Bump Time - Gene "Bowlegs" Miller & Friends

  • 10 Preview Blackrock Yeah Yeah - Blackrock

  • 11 Preview Keep The Faith - Mel & Tim

  • 12 Preview Who's Been Warming My Oven? - Sir Walter

  • 13 Preview Come What May - John Gary Williams

  • 14 Preview Watch Dog (Alt) - Barbara & The Browns

  • 15 Preview The Way Of Me - Kannon

  • 16 Preview Don't Boom Boom - Lillian Hale

  • 17 Preview Take A Giant Step - LaCleve Milon

  • 18 Preview Papa Killed A Chicken - Willie Toliver

  • 19 Preview Hard Times - Billy Cee & Freedom Express

  • 20 Preview Dig It (She's In The Groove) - The Optimistics

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Purchase! ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought