Mo' Mod Jazz Various Artists (Mod Jazz Series)


Catalogue Id:

The second instalment in the Mod Jazz series conjures up the ultra-hip mod scene in an era when the DJ was experimenting with the musical taste of his audience by rediscovering new dance sounds from the 50s and 60s. This trend launched many DJs into searching out the more obscure offshoots of the traditional soul and R&B mod sounds of Tamla Motown and Atlantic Records - thus discovering blues, ska and jazz.

The music that was prevalent on the 80s Mod scene was never viewed as merely 'nostalgic', it was considered more of a continuation in the progressive attitude of the 60s. Although the classic Mod tracks that were already well known provided the backbone of the music scene, the Mod lifestyle dictated the necessity to seek out tunes had seldom been heard before.

The constant quest for elitism brought about the discovery of many fresh and exciting tunes that had previously remained undiscovered - possibly since they were first released.

The labels featured in this collection, such as Riverside, Prestige and Battle, are excellent examples of specialist labels producing first class originals as well as foot stomping cover versions that kept the dance floors of clubs like Sneakers, the Outrigger and the 100 Club heaving with bodies twitching to the hip-bending beats of years gone by.

The pace is set by the big band soul sounds of Johnny Griffin. The Hammond organ grooves of Freddie Roach carry it through into the city blues of Junior Wells and BB King. We shimmy around the outskirts of town with the urban blues from the likes of Lightnin' Hopkins and Mose Allison, sliding into the Latin jazz conga beats of such luminaries as Mongo Santamaria and Henry "Pucho" Brown. Mellow modern jazz in the form of Johnny Lytle and vocalist Mark Murphy soothe the soul in time to bring us smoothly back down to earth from jazz heaven. Nice...really nice.

by Richard Early


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Wade In The Water - Johnny Griffin Orchestra

  • 02 Preview Mission Impossible - Johnny Gilliam

  • 03 Preview Money (That's What I Want) - Freddie Roach

  • 04 Preview Soul Jam - Booker T & The MGs

  • 05 Preview Got My Mojo Working (But It Just Won't Work On You) - Billy Hawks

  • 06 Preview (I Got A) Stomach Ache - Junior Wells

  • 07 Preview Got To Move Your Baby - Lightnin' Hopkins

  • 08 Preview Eyesight To The Blind - Mose Allison

  • 09 Preview Georgia On My Mind - Pucho & The Latin Soul Brothers

  • 10 Preview Get The Money - Mongo Santamaria Orchestra

  • 11 Preview Cholo - Brown Brothers Of Soul

  • 12 Preview Blue Vibes - Johnny Lytle Trio

  • 13 Preview Smokey Joe's La La - The Googie Rene Combo

  • 14 Preview Spider Man - Freddie McCoy

  • 15 Preview Livin' Soul - Richard Groove Holmes

  • 16 Preview Right On - Boogaloo Joe Jones

  • 17 Preview My Train - Merl Saunders

  • 18 Preview You Can't Sit Down - Chris Columbo

  • 19 Preview Bad Luck Soul - B.B. King

  • 20 Preview You Win, I Lose - Little Johnny Taylor

  • 21 Preview Brother Ray - Willis Jackson

  • 22 Preview Senor Blues - Mark Murphy

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought