New Breed Blues With Black Popcorn Various Artists (New Breed R&B)


Rhythm & Blues
Catalogue Id:

Make way for a brand new selection of collectables, curios and rug-cutters for R&B fans who feel the beat and need new sounds to scratch their itch.

Tracks such as Marva Josie’s ‘You Lied’, Sinner Strong’s ‘Don’t Knock It’ and the Idols’ ‘Just A Little Bit More’ seem to have been around for an eternity without being properly comped, whereas ‘Why Oh Why’ by Austin Taylor, ‘Well I Done Got Over It’ from Bobby Mitchell and Dolores Johnson’s ‘What Kind Of Man Are You’ are currently raising eyebrows and overdrafts. J.J. Jackson’s ‘Oo-Ma-Liddy’, Little Johnny Taylor’s ‘Somewhere Down The Line’ and Etta James’ ‘Nobody Loves You Like Me’ are perfect for this CD.

Kent’s forte is the previously unissued humdinger and here we have a handful of the best to tempt even the most OVO (original vinyl only) of collectors to shell out for this piquant package. Two gems from earlier Ace CDs can be found in Art Wheeler’s Downey side ‘Baby We’re Through’ and Carl Edmondson & the Charmaines’ Fraternity number ‘Baby Please Don’t Go’, while the more recently issued 45 of ‘I Ain’t Talkin’’ comes from last year’s CD of Kent Harris’ R&B productions.

Inevitably it’s the debutantes that will steal the show and attract the more traditional R&B fan. There is a pounding blues by Freddie North from Bob Holmes’ tapes, when he was working with Freddie along with Slim Harpo in Nashville in the late 60s. From Los Angeles there is Adolph Jacobs’ unreleased Class recording ‘Cannibal Stew’ that sounds like the Coasters and might even have them singing behind him (he was their guitarist at the time). Then we have a taster for the forthcoming Ace CD of Richard Stamz’s Chicago blues productions, with a fine mover from Tony Gideon called ‘So Strange’.

Finally, there is a track that put me into a state of frenzy, ‘When You See Me Hurt’ by Carl Lester & the Showstoppers – 2 minutes 30 of unadulterated hip-shaking heartbreak. I must have one now!


By Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview When You See Me Hurt - Carl Lester & The Show Stoppers

  • 02 Preview Somewhere Down The Line - Little Johnny Taylor

  • 03 Preview Well, I Done Got Over It - Bobby Mitchell

  • 04 Preview I'm Comin' Home (Take 2-A) - Bobby John with Jimmy Thomas, Stacy Johnson & Vernon Guy

  • 05 Preview You Lied - Marva Josie

  • 06 Preview Don't Knock It - Sinner Strong

  • 07 Preview I Ain't Talkin' - Pat Hunt

  • 08 Preview What Kind Of Man Are You - Dolores Johnson

  • 09 Preview Just A Little Bit More - The Idols

  • 10 Preview So Strange - Tony Gideon

  • 11 Preview You Ought To Love Me - Harold Burrage

  • 12 Preview Mr Lonely - Freddie North

  • 13 Preview Baby Please Don't Go - Carl Edmondson with the Charmaines

  • 14 Preview Late In The Evening - The Fran-cettes

  • 15 Preview Oo-Ma-Liddi - J.J. Jackson & The Jackaels

  • 16 Preview Itchy Koo - Hank Blackman & The Killers

  • 17 Preview East L A - Solid Jackson

  • 18 Preview Cannibal Stew - Adolph Jacobs

  • 19 Preview Nobody Loves You Like Me - Etta James

  • 20 Preview This Little Letter - James Wayne

  • 21 Preview Why Oh Why - Austin Taylor

  • 22 Preview Baby We're Through - Art Wheeler

  • 23 Preview Rockin' Bed - Valerie Carr

  • 24 Preview I'm Hurted - Mamie Perry with the Gus Jenkins Orchestra

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Another winner ★★★★

Record Collector


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought