Nineteen Sixty Six: The David Axelrod & HB Barnum Sessions Little Willie John


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

This has been described recently by its producer, David Axelrod, as “one of the best albums that I ever did”. And in spite of its sub-zero fidelity reproduction, a previous (and dubious) issue of some of its contents has had fans of mid 60s soul going into apoplexies about its brilliance – apoplexies tempered with regret that the audio sounded like it had been cut in a bucket with a 20 tog duvet glued to the top..

Well, Little Willie John fans can discard those forthwith as Kent is very proud to add “Nineteen Sixty Six”, featuring Willie’s complete Capitol sessions, to its catalogue. Those who love Willie’s great King sides and have wondered about how he would have coped with the arrival of soul music need wonder no more – these 12 selections (plus a generous helping of stereo mixes and alternate takes) show that he would have done just fine as a premier league soul man. Produced by Axelrod, arranged by H B Barnum and featuring many of the usual West Coast sessioneers such as Arthur Wright, Earl Palmer, Jim Horn and Carol Kaye (not to mention Barnum’s sister Billie, of the Apollas, leading the backing vocalists), this set would have been all that Willie would have needed to get his career back on track if the US judicial system had not decreed that he should be returned to prison, to serve the sentence that had been imposed upon him for stabbing a man in 1964.

There are at least three cuts on this set – ‘Country Girl’, ‘Someone’ and ‘Early In The Morning’, which are already firing up the nation’s Northern Soul collectors and dancers. Other true delights include Willie’s sublime version of the similarly-tragic Johnny Ace’s ‘Never Let Me Go’ and a thrill-a-second version of Lil Green’s sensual 40s blues ‘In The Dark’.

In beautiful sound, and mastered from recent transfers of the original Capitol master tapes, “Nineteen Sixty Six” represents the creative apex of a man who never got the chance to try to better it. Little more than two years after these sides were cut, William Edgar John died in Wall Walla Prison in Washington State, a victim of pneumonia.

Willie may have gone, but his legacy will be with us always. Buried in a vault for long-forgotten ‘legal reasons’ more than 40 years ago, it’s great to give some of the best-ever recordings by someone who – for my money – is the greatest singer of all time, the kind of ‘homecoming’ that they have long deserved.

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Country Girl aka Home At Last (Take 8)

  • 02 Preview Suffering With The Blues (Take 4)

  • 03 Preview I Had A Dream aka Just A Dream (Take 7)

  • 04 Preview Never Let Me Go (Take 4)

  • 05 Preview If I Loved You (Take 2)

  • 06 Preview (I Need) Someone (Take 12)

  • 07 Preview Welcome To The Club (Take 8)

  • 08 Preview Early In The Morning (Take 8)

  • 09 Preview In The Dark (Take 1)

  • 10 Preview Crying Over You (Take 2)

  • 11 Preview You Are My Sunshine (Take 3)

  • 12 Preview Country Girl aka Home At Last (Alt take)

  • 13 Preview Suffering With The Blues (Alt take)

  • 14 Preview I Had A Dream aka Just A Dream (Alt take)

  • 15 Preview Endless Sleep

  • 16 Preview Never Let Me Go (Alt take)

  • 17 Preview Welcome To The Club (Alt take)

  • 18 Preview Early In The Morning (Alt take)

  • 19 Preview In The Dark (Alt take)

  • 20 Preview Crying Over You (Alt take)

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A great lost album. ★★★★


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought