This Is It! More From The Van McCoy Songbook 1963-77 Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

A second collection drawn from the great Van McCoy’s songbook, showcasing many in-demand dance-oriented gems.

It’s been a while coming but our second collection of songs written by Van McCoy is finally here. It may have taken longer than expected for “This Is It!” to reach fruition but we are glad to bring you a selection we feel is as strong as, if not stronger than, 2010’s “The Sweetest Feeling” (CDKEND 334), our first exploration of his songbook. The 48 songs anthologised over our two CDs are but a small fraction of the approximately 300 he wrote between 1959 and 1979. This new collection serves as a memorial to Van, who packed a lot into his career and was just 39 when he died 40 years ago this July.

Whereas “The Sweetest Feeling” covered 1962-1973, “This Is It!” continues through Van’s most commercially successful years and comes to an end in 1977. The content showcases many of his most popular dance-oriented tracks but slowies have not been overlooked entirely. As well as northern soul favourites by Sandi Sheldon, Kenny Carlton, the Vonettes and others, there are several of Van’s most commercially successful songs and productions, including Melba Moore’s title track and Gladys Knight & the Pips’ UK chart monster ‘Baby Don’t Change Your Mind’. You will hear from artists whose association with Van spanned a significant chunk of their careers and others who cut just one or two of his compositions. One thing they all have in common is that their recordings of his songs are generally considered to be among the best they ever made.

Following his chart-topping hit with the instrumental ‘The Hustle’ in 1975, Van began to invest more time in his own career as an artist. However, as can be seen from the later tracks in this collection, he was still up for as much writing, arranging and production work as ever. In the final year of his life he produced albums and singles on Aretha Franklin, Johnny Nash, Thelma Houston, Tommie Young, Zulema and Stacy Lattisaw. Van may have left us too soon but the records that bear his name in some capacity will live forever in the hearts of record collectors the world over.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Lost And Found - Kenny Carlton

  • 02 Preview The Sweetest Thing This Side Of Heaven - Chris Bartley

  • 03 Preview You're Gonna Make Me Love You - Sandi Sheldon

  • 04 Preview Hard Way To Go - The Exciters

  • 05 Preview I Wanna Love You So Bad - Bobby Reed

  • 06 Preview Gonna Be Ready - Betty Everett

  • 07 Preview We're In This Thing Together - Peaches & Herb

  • 08 Preview Baby, I Miss You - The Spellbinders

  • 09 Preview Abracadabra - Erma Franklin

  • 10 Preview Wait Till I Get You In My Arms - Major Lance

  • 11 Preview Just In The Nick Of Time - Toni Lamarr

  • 12 Preview Touch My Heart - The Vonettes

  • 13 Preview Mister DJ - Francine Barker

  • 14 Preview Ain't It Funny What Love Can Do - Kenny Young

  • 15 Preview Show A Little Appreciation - The Ad Libs

  • 16 Preview Where Did You Learn To Make Love The Way You Do - Sharon Ridley

  • 17 Preview Little Bit Of Love - Brenda & The Tabulations

  • 18 Preview If I Don't Love You - The Choice Four

  • 19 Preview Memories And Souvenirs - Laura Greene

  • 20 Preview You're My Peace Of Mind - Faith Hope & Charity

  • 21 Preview Baby Don't Change Your Mind - Gladys Knight & The Pips

  • 22 Preview Am I Cold, Am I Hot - Bill Harris

  • 23 Preview Everything's Coming Up Love - David Ruffin

  • 24 Preview This Is It - Melba Moore

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought