Goffin & King: A Gerry Goffin & Carole King Song Collection 1961-1967 Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1170

Ace’s songwriter series continues with a most fascinating compilation on the Goffin & King partnership. In addition to a group of unforgettable milestone performances such as Tony Orlando’s pre-Billy Fury original version of Halfway To Paradise and Aretha Franklin’s glorious interpretation of (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman, Tony Rounce and Mick Patrick have fashioned a collection that includes some spellbinding rarities and captivating glimpses of a few singers whose recording careers ended aeons ago.

As an example, you rarely get the chance to hear Bertell Daché. For years, reference books claimed his name was a pseudonym for Tony Orlando but, as Mick Patrick confirms, that wasn’t the case. He sang on many Goffin & King demos and recorded some sides for United Artists in 1961. On display on this CD set is Love Eyes which appears here in stereo for the very first time.

Another standout rarity is Some Of Your Lovin’ by the Honey Bees (the Cookies under another name). This is the song which was a huge UK hit for Dusty Springfield, though it never charted in the US. The Paris Sisters, who’d left the mark on chart history books with Barry Mann & Larry Kolber’s I Love How You Love Me, tried reviving it in the late 60s without success - which is unfortunate because Some Of Your Lovin’ remains one of the true gems in the Goffin & King canon. The Honey Bees’ version is a classic in the girl group tradition and was produced by Gerry Goffin.

You’ll also discover such treasures as Just A Little Girl sung by surf queen Donna Loren, I Can’t Make It Alone by the underrated P J Proby and I’ll Love You For A While by Jill Jackson (Paula of Paul & Paula fame).

Along with revealing quotes from the songwriters themselves, the booklet notes track the histories of each song. For instance, I’ll Love You For A While is best known by Dusty Springfield; however, her version was originally relegated to a B-side (of Some Of Your Lovin’) which just goes to show how great songs were often hidden away.

What stands out is not only Carole King’s superb, enthralling melodies but also Gerry Goffin’s outstanding lyrics. One of Gerry’s great strengths is that he can write from a woman’s vantage point as in, for example, (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman.

The output and histories of songwriters from the Brill Building era represent a formidable slice of American popular culture and this indispensable set allows you to step inside the musical hearts and minds of the indisputably essential team of Carole King and her then-husband, Gerry Goffin.

By Alan Warner


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview He's In Town - The Tokens

  • 02 Preview Let Me Get Close To You - Skeeter Davis

  • 03 Preview Halfway To Paradise - Tony Orlando

  • 04 Preview The Idol - Bobby Vee

  • 05 Preview The First And Last - The Chiffons

  • 06 Preview Brand New Man - Richard "Popcorn" Wylie

  • 07 Preview Another Night With The Boys - The Drifters

  • 08 Preview Heaven Is Being With You - Jackie DeShannon

  • 09 Preview I Didn't Have Any Summer Romance - The Satisfactions

  • 10 Preview Love Eyes - Bertell Dache

  • 11 Preview Don't Ever Change - The Crickets

  • 12 Preview I'll Love You For A While - Jill Jackson

  • 13 Preview I Was There - Lenny Welch

  • 14 Preview I Just Can't Say Goodbye - Bobby Rydell

  • 15 Preview I Can't Hear You - Betty Everett

  • 16 Preview Just A Little Girl - Donna Loren

  • 17 Preview You're Just What I Was Looking For Today - The Everly Brothers

  • 18 Preview Hey Everybody - Ramona King

  • 19 Preview I Can't Make It Alone - P J Proby

  • 20 Preview Some Of Your Lovin' - The Honey Bees

  • 21 Preview A Man Without A Dream - The Righteous Brothers

  • 22 Preview Don't Bring Me Down - The Animals

  • 23 Preview Wasn't Born To Follow - Dusty Springfield

  • 24 Preview So Much Love - Ben E King

  • 25 Preview Yours Until Tomorrow - Dee Dee Warwick

  • 26 Preview (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman - Aretha Franklin

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought