Yesterday Has Gone - The Songs Of Teddy Randazzo Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1556

Not before time, Teddy Randazzo joins lauded names such as Randy Newman, Goffin & King, Laura Nyro, Serge Gainsbourg, Bacharach & David, Leonard Cohen and Harry Nilsson in Ace Records’ highly regarded Songwriters series.

Having paid his dues as a recording artist in the 50s and early 60s, by 1964 Randazzo had turned his focus to writing for others. With sumptuously produced classics such as ‘Goin’ Out Of My Head’, ‘I’m On The Outside (Looking In)’, ‘It’s Gonna Take A Miracle’ and ‘Hurt So Bad’ to his name, few would disagree that he became one of the finest American songwriters of his time.

Spanning 1964 to 1979, this collection features 25 of his best compositions, performed by Little Anthony & the Imperials, the Royalettes and Derek Martin – the artists with whom he worked most prolifically – and top-tier names such as Frank Sinatra, Dionne Warwick, Esther Phillips, Timi Yuro, Billy Fury and Mel Tormé.

The definitive recordings of Randazzo’s songs are invariably the ones he himself produced, and it’s significant that he did so on most of the tracks here. The few exceptions include three superb covers of songs from the Little Anthony & the Imperials catalogue and ‘Buttercup Days’ by the Kane Triplets, a delicious piece of sunshine pop.

Comes with a stylish 24-page booklet packed with colourful memorabilia, rare photos, an introductory essay by Ian Chapman and track commentary by compiler Mick Patrick.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I'm On The Outside (Looking In) - Little Anthony & The Imperials

  • 02 Preview Can't Stop Running Away - Timi Yuro

  • 03 Preview Baby Are You Puttin' Me On - The Royalettes

  • 04 Preview You Don't Need A Heart - Teddy Randazzo

  • 05 Preview Think Before You Act - Tony Orlando

  • 06 Preview You Better Go - Derek Martin

  • 07 Preview It's Gonna Take A Miracle - The Royalettes

  • 08 Preview Rain In My Heart - Frank Sinatra

  • 09 Preview We're On Our Way - The Vogues

  • 10 Preview Buttercup Days - The Kane Triplets

  • 11 Preview Let Me Dream - Georgia Gibbs

  • 12 Preview Let Me Know When It's Over - Esther Phillips

  • 13 Preview Lonely Girl - Annabelle Fox

  • 14 Preview Better Off Without You - Ritchie Adams

  • 15 Preview I'm Lost Without You - Billy Fury

  • 16 Preview Or Not At All - Jimmy Rice

  • 17 Preview Good For A Lifetime - Al Hibbler

  • 18 Preview Goin' Out Of My Head - Dionne Warwick

  • 19 Preview Better Use Your Head - Mel Tormé

  • 20 Preview I Watched You Slowly Slip Away - Howard Guyton

  • 21 Preview Yesterday Has Gone - Anthony & The Imperials

  • 22 Preview Think Twice Before You Walk Away - Porgy & The Monarchs

  • 23 Preview Hurt So Bad - The Delfonics

  • 24 Preview Love At First Sight - The Stylistics

  • 25 Preview A Million To One - The Manhattans

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought