Old Town Doo Wop Vol 4 Various Artists (Old Town)


Doo Wop
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

Our fourth dip into the vaults of Hy Weiss' Old Town labels and another tasty helping of vocal group music from the 1950s era of R&B and rock 'n' roll.
The 6 sides from The Solitaires almost completes the reissue of their Old Town material (the rest is on CDCHD 383 and the forthcoming 'Old Town Doo Wop Volume 5'). The Capris tracks (here and on Volume 5) are more first-time-in-stereo releases. Vicki Burgess' 'I Call To You' is the previously unreleased first professional recording by this singer -- she would later record with R&B girl group Joytones on Rama. The Gems sides are white doo wop, released on Old Town subsidiary Win, and currently fetching $300 for an original copy. There's also more Ruth McFadden (this time with The Royaltones) and previously unreleased sides by the latter, the Symbols, Harptones and Vocaleers. Finally, there's Nick & The Nacks 'The Night' - uptempo, white doo wop, released originally in 1964 and fetching $300-400 in its original form (here you get it on CD for a fraction of the cost and without its excruciating B-side).


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Round Goes My Heart - The Solitaires

  • 02 Preview Some People Think - The Capris

  • 03 Preview I Call To You - Vicki Burgess & the Solarettes

  • 04 Preview I Won't Tell The World - The Blenders

  • 05 Preview The Night Is Over - The Gems

  • 06 Preview I'll Be There - The Vocaleers

  • 07 Preview Lonely - The Solitaires

  • 08 Preview My Heart - The Fi-tones

  • 09 Preview Why Do I Cry - The Capris

  • 10 Preview The Night - Nick And The Nacks

  • 11 Preview Walkin' And Talkin' - The Solitaires

  • 12 Preview Lover, Lover, Lover - The Symbols

  • 13 Preview You For Me - Ruth McFadden & The Royaltones

  • 14 Preview It's You - The Earls

  • 15 Preview Girl Of Mine - The Solitaires

  • 16 Preview My Island In The Sun - The Capris

  • 17 Preview Summer Love - The Valentines

  • 18 Preview Crazy Love - The Royaltones

  • 19 Preview Girl In My Dreams - The Capris

  • 20 Preview But I Know - The Blenders

  • 21 Preview Pretty Thing - The Solitaires

  • 22 Preview Life Is But A Dream - The Harptones

  • 23 Preview Nursery Rhymes - The Gems

  • 24 Preview Thrill Of Love - The Solitaires

  • 25 Preview When You're Smiling - Gene Mumford & The Serenaders

  • 26 Preview Listen, Listen Baby - The Unknown

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought