On With The Show - The Johnny Otis Story Vol 2 1957-1974 Various Artists (Johnny Otis)


Rhythm & Blues
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1326

Johnny Otis celebrated his 90th birthday on 28 December 2011 – a true landmark for a man who has given most of his life to music. Ace is commemorating the event with the release of this collection, which together with “The Johnny Otis Story Vol 1” (CDCHD 1312) presents a concise overview of his entire career as a composer, musician, singer, producer, talent scout and songwriter.

“On With The Show” lives up to its title by picking up Johnny’s story from just before where the first volume left off, and carrying it through to the mid-70s – the point at which he stopped releasing new music and began diversifying his talents into cultural, spiritual and political areas. As did other R&B pioneers, Johnny had a lean time in the early and mid-1960s, at least as far as the charts went, but a string of Capitol 45s – including ‘Castin’ My Spell’, ‘Crazy Country Hop’ and ‘Mumblin’ Mosie’, all featured here – offer as good a representation of rock’n’roll as you’ll find anywhere. Many of Johnny’s King recordings are also invigorating, as those in this package will demonstrate. It’s hardly his fault that people were buying Fabian, Frankie Avalon, the 4 Seasons and the Beatles instead.

Johnny gave up recording for a few years before returning with the estimable “Cold Shot” album and the R&B/Pop hit ‘Country Girl’, both featuring the burgeoning talents of his young son Shuggie. They led to a full-on revival of the Johnny Otis Show and to further recordings for Epic, the best of which are featured here.

Things began to tail off again in the mid-70s in the wake of the disco boom. The big band funk of his movie-inspired ‘Jaws’ shows that he could have competed in the disco arena, should he have chosen to, but a man with as many things going on as Johnny Otis didn’t have to compete with anyone, and he just expanded his horizons elsewhere instead. Post-‘Jaws’, Johnny has been a radio DJ, ordained minster, artist, author and many other things. Most people would be delighted to have accomplished a fraction of what he has done. Unfortunately, we can’t all be the Godfather of Rhythm & Blues, but we can all enjoy his work for many years to come thanks to the fine compilations available on Ace and elsewhere.

If you don’t know Johnny Otis but want to start, this collection and the previous volume will serve as the perfect introduction to the man and his music.

Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Johnny Otis Theme - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 02 Preview Good Golly - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 03 Preview Mumblin' Mosie - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 04 Preview Cold Turkey - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 05 Preview Castin' My Spell - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 06 Preview I'm With You - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 07 Preview The New Bo Diddley - Johnny Otis

  • 08 Preview The Jelly Roll - Johnny Otis

  • 09 Preview Crazy Country Hop - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 10 Preview Baby I Got News For You - Johnny Otis

  • 11 Preview Let's Live It Up - Johnny Otis

  • 12 Preview Hand Jive One More Time - Johnny Otis

  • 13 Preview Keep The Faith Part 2 (Live) - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 14 Preview Banana Peels - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 15 Preview The Signifyin' Monkey Part 1 - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 16 Preview Country Girl - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 17 Preview Cold Shot - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 18 Preview Goin' Back To L.A. - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 19 Preview The Watts Breakaway - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 20 Preview I Got the Walkin' Blues - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 21 Preview Barrelhouse Blues - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 22 Preview Cuttin' Up - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 23 Preview Jaws - Johnny Otis

  • 24 Preview Bye Bye Baby (Until We Meet Again) - The Johnny Otis Show

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought