Pied Piper: The Pinnacle Of Detroit Northern Soul Various Artists (Pied Piper)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Pied Piper: The Pinnacle Of Detroit Northern Soul (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

The first vinyl LP on our specially created Pied Piper imprint – featuring established favourites, recent discoveries and other rarities from the Detroit-based production company.

First northern soul collectors scoured the junk shops, charity shops, deletion bins and mail order lists for records by their favourite artists. Next they tried other discs on labels for which their heroes appeared. Later came the search for titles by songwriters such as Van McCoy, Popcorn Wylie and Ashford & Simpson and the work of producers, arrangers and the companies they worked for.

Pied Piper was a Detroit-based production company with a big enough catalogue to have been a successful indie label in its own right. Apart from their own short-lived Giant imprint, they were credited on another 20-plus 45s and three LPs issued on various other logos. Even more impressive was the music they left on master tapes. Around 50 finished tracks have emerged over the last 20 years and it has been Kent’s honour to release them on our specially created Pied Piper label. This is our first vinyl album taken from that catalogue.

Included are perennial favourites such as ‘I’m Not Built That Way’ by the Hesitations, ‘That’s When I Need You’ by Freddy Butler and Mikki Farrow’s ‘Set My Heart At Ease’, which we’ve mixed with recently discovered soul sensations ‘Voo Doo Madamoiselle’, ‘More Than A Memory’ and ‘We Go Together’. As a bonus, the version of the Cavaliers’ ‘We Go Together’ is a completely different take to the one on our first Pied Piper CD, featuring a rap intro all serious fans will need. Nancy Wilcox’s opening track ‘More Than A Memory’ is a superior sounding master taken from a recently discovered tape and there are alternative original takes of Lorraine Chandler’s ‘I Can’t Hold On’ and ‘You Only Live Twice’. Classy rarities from Tony Hester, September Jones and Rose Batiste complete the collection.

Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview More Than A Memory - Nancy Wilcox

  • 02 Preview Ooh It Hurts Me (Alternate version) - The Cavaliers

  • 03 Preview I'm Not Built That Way - The Hesitations

  • 04 Preview This Heart Is Lonely - Rose Batiste

  • 05 Preview You Only Live Twice (Original take) - Lorraine Chandler

  • 06 Preview That's When I Need You - Freddy Butler

Side 2

  • 01 Preview We Go Together (Alternate version with rap intro) - The Cavaliers

  • 02 Preview Voo Doo Madamoiselle - September Jones

  • 03 Preview Set My Heart At Ease - Mikki Farrow

  • 04 Preview I Can't Hold On (Edited original version) - Lorraine Chandler

  • 05 Preview I'm Coming Home - September Jones

  • 06 Preview Just Can't Leave You - Tony Hester

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


The cream of the crop is here, each one a soul manifesto. The majority of tracksfeatured form a seamless soundtrack to a weekend sapping, sweat soaked, amphetamine rush of raw emotion as urgent, breathless, pouding stompers stack up one after another ★★★★


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought