Rockin' On Broadway: Time, Brent, Shad Story Various Artists (Time Brent Shad)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

The late Bob Shad began producing jazz and blues for long-forgotten independent labels in the late 40s then spent seven years with Mercury where he supervised countless jazz, blues and pop dates by such notables as Dinah Washington, Junior Wells, the Diamonds, the Platters, Screaming Jay Hawkins and Conway Twitty - in the days before It's Only Make Believe.

Shad was approaching 40 when he resigned from Mercury and went into business for himself, forming three labels - Time, Brent and Shad - in quick succession. By the spring of 1959, Shad had his first major hit with I've Had It by the Bell Notes (on Time) and never looked back. He consolidated with further hits by Skip and Flip, a pop-rock duo comprising Clyde Battin (who later joined the Byrds) and Gary Paxton who broke away from Skip and Flip in mid-career to record the million-selling Alley-Oop (as the Hollywood Argyles) for another label.

Other acts who scored on Time-Brent-Shad during this period were the Genies (Who's That Knocking), the Knockouts (Darling Lorraine) and the Beau-Marks (Clap Your Hands), not to mention rockers such as Eddie Quinteros and Wayne Worley who registered strongly with, respectively, Come Dance With Me and Red Headed Woman. In 1962, Brent made the charts with Bertha Tillman's soulful Oh My Angel while Time released the treasured original version of Devil In His Heart by the Donays, a song the Beatles later popularised as Devil In Her Heart.

Bob Shad was very open-minded. A sizeable proportion of releases on Time, Brent and Shad were purchased from indie producers or smaller labels and the three logos essentially functioned as trademarks for most forms of popular music including rockabilly, doo-wop, teen ballads, soul, instrumentals and, later, hard rock (Shad was the first to record both Ted Nugent and Janis Joplin).

Complimenting our earlier Shad anthology, Wop Ding A Ling (CDCHD 639) which concentrated on vocal groups, Rockin' On Broadway brings together the best of the rock'n'roll and pop releases (including all the hits) in a seamless amalgam. Most notably, it contains Lou Reed's earliest commercial recordings with the Jades in 1958, as well as two intriguing solo sides dating from 1962, issued here for the first time.

By Rob Finnis


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I've Had It - The Bell Notes

  • 02 Preview Who's That Knocking - The Genies

  • 03 Preview Stumpy Stump - Tony Farrell

  • 04 Preview So Blue - The Jades

  • 05 Preview Come On Little Sarah - Leslie Harris

  • 06 Preview Firewater - Rusty Isabell

  • 07 Preview Be Mine - The Bell Notes

  • 08 Preview Leave Her For Me - The Jades

  • 09 Preview Hypnotized - Don Jordan

  • 10 Preview It Was I - Skip & Flip

  • 11 Preview The People Hater - Brad & Jerry

  • 12 Preview Bury The Hatchet - Chuck & Chuckles

  • 13 Preview Darling Lorraine - The Knockouts

  • 14 Preview Riot In Room 3 C - The Knockouts

  • 15 Preview White Buckskin Sneakers And Checkerboard Socks - The Bell Notes

  • 16 Preview Your Love - Lewis Reed

  • 17 Preview Merry Go 'Round - Lewis Reed

  • 18 Preview Starlight - Lee Greenlee

  • 19 Preview Clap Your Hands - The Beau-Marks

  • 20 Preview Cherry Pie - Skip & Flip

  • 21 Preview Come Dance With Me - Eddie Quinteros

  • 22 Preview Oh Joan - The Beau-Marks

  • 23 Preview Betty Jean - The Pledges aka Skip & Flip

  • 24 Preview Red Headed Woman - Wayne Worley

  • 25 Preview Slow Down Sandy - Eddie Quinteros

  • 26 Preview Raggedy Ann - Jody Reynolds

  • 27 Preview Bad Boy - The Donays

  • 28 Preview Oh My Angel - Bertha Tillman

  • 29 Preview Devil In His Heart - The Donays

  • 30 Preview Barracuda - Pete & The Minute Men

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A splendid set.

Record Collector

This one is worth investigation.

Now Dig This

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought