Brent: Superb 60s Soul Sounds Various Artists (Time Brent Shad)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

Bob Shad ran several record labels between the late 50s and the mid-70s, Brent being the one he chose to issue the majority of his 60s soul output. He made good contacts around the USA while working for Mercury and used them when he launched his labels. The CD opens with a soul opus by Dave Crawford, who became a kingpin of the Miami soul sound in the 70s; ‘Millionaire’ featured on both decks of promo versions of the 45, but store copies with ‘Praying For The Rain To Come’ on the other side have never been seen, or heard until now. In 1967 Crawford worked with the Lovells whose ‘Here Come The Heartaches’ was an early Northern Soul scene hit. He also took Linda Lyndell to Stax after recording her on ‘Pretty Boy’ and ‘My Man, He’s A Loving Man’ for Brent, both previously unreleased. The Sunshine State was also the origin of the Moovers’ vocal group nuggets ‘I Love You, Baby’ and ‘One Little Dance’, as well as the haunting ‘I Need You, Baby’ by Lewis Clark.

Mike Lenaburg of Phoenix ,Arizona had two productions released on Brent, of which Ronnie White’s pleading ballad ‘Begging You’ was the label’s swansong. Also included is White’s fast and funky ‘Got To Give You Up’, unissued until recently. Shad released music from any area that was happening and was one of the first to venture into Detroit soul, before it had really exploded. Releases from Marva Josie and Laura Johnson came from the Correc-Tone studios; they are highly sought-after records, exceptionally well-written, produced and sung.

Los Angeles was a major source of material for the label. Singer-songwriter June Jackson cut two sides with his group the Jackaels. The mid-tempo big beat ballad ‘Port Of Happiness’ is as good a find of this genre as has been unearthed in the last decade. Jackson wrote ‘Oh My Angel’ for Bertha Tillman, who closes this CD with an unissued ballad. Brenton Wood recorded four sides for Brent. For the first time in stereo we present ‘Cross The Bridge’ and ‘I Want Love’. Clarence Hill’s in-demand ‘A Lot Of Lovin’ Goin’ Round’ and Carl Lester & the Show Stoppers’ ‘Don’t You Know That I Believe’ are alsoLos Angelesrecordings.

Shad’s home base wasNew York, from where two unissued dance tracks by jazz singer Jeannie Trevor emanate. ‘Tinklin’ Bells’ is a forceful version of the Johnny Payne popcorn classic and ‘You Did It Before’ is a similarly strident big city production. Both were co-written by Rose Marie McCoy, who also penned ‘Fly By Night’, recorded by Varetta & the Thomases, and Clyde Wilson’s unreleased big beat ballad ‘Go To Him’. 

By Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Praying For The Rain To Come - Dave Crawford

  • 02 Preview Port Of Happiness - June Jackson & The Jackaels

  • 03 Preview You Did It Before aka You Did It For Me - Jeannie Trevor

  • 04 Preview I Pray That Things Will Change - Julius Wright

  • 05 Preview One Little Dance - The Moovers

  • 06 Preview I Want Love - Brenton Wood

  • 07 Preview I Love You, Baby - The Moovers

  • 08 Preview Begging You - Ronnie White

  • 09 Preview Go To Him - Clyde Wilson

  • 10 Preview Later For You, Baby - Marva Josie

  • 11 Preview Wondering If You Miss Me - Laura Johnson

  • 12 Preview Don't You Know That I Believe - Carl Lester & The Show Stoppers

  • 13 Preview I Need You, Baby - Lewis Clark

  • 14 Preview Pretty Boy - Linda Lyndell

  • 15 Preview Here Comes The Heartaches - The Lovells

  • 16 Preview Millionaire - Dave Crawford

  • 17 Preview A Lot Of Lovin' Goin' Round - Clarence Hill

  • 18 Preview Cross The Bridge - Brenton Wood

  • 19 Preview Tinklin' Bells - Jeannie Trevor

  • 20 Preview My Man, He's A Loving Man - Linda Lyndell

  • 21 Preview Got To Give You Up - Ronnie White

  • 22 Preview Don't Play With My Heart - Marvel Harrell

  • 23 Preview Fly By Night - Varetta & The Thomases

  • 24 Preview Someone (Who Needs You Like I Do) - Bertha Tillman

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought