Some Kinda Magic - The Songs Of Jerry Ross Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


60s Soul
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1475

A collection of the best songs by one of 1960s Philadelphia’s top writer/producers.

Native Philadelphian Jerry Ross’ name can be found on the labels of many of the city’s most significant singles and albums. He may not be as well-known as contemporaries such as Dick Clark, Chubby Checker or Gamble & Huff, but Jerry’s career has been equally important to the evolution of the Philly music scene. This month Ace is delighted to spotlight his classic compositions with the latest entry in our popular Songwriter series.

Jerry’s most frequent co-writer was the young Kenny Gamble. It was Jerry who suggested that he and Gamble write something with another upcoming Philly musician, Leon Huff. Together the three penned ‘I’m Gonna Make You Love Me’, heard here in its original hit version by Dee Dee Warwick, which led to Gamble and Huff’s permanent partnership and Philadelphia’s dominance of the soul scene over the next 10 years.

Mort Shuman, Artie Kornfeld, Mark Barkan and the Anders & Poncia and Bloodworth & Brown teams also number among those with whom Jerry wrote songs, and what fine songs they were: ‘Who Do You Love’, ‘Mr Dream Merchant’, ‘The 81’, ‘Daylight Savin’ Time’, ‘When Love Slips Away’, ‘You Gave Me Somebody To Love’ and many more besides. The tracks here span just about the whole of the 1960s and demonstrate how Jerry moved with the changes that occurred during that era. All the major acts he worked with are featured, along with some pleasant surprises he wasn’t aware of or had forgotten about until he saw the track listing.

Jerry also worked as a singer, musician, DJ, radio announcer, music publisher, record plugger, producer and owner of the successful Heritage and Colossus labels. With so much going on in his career it’s amazing he found time to write even one song, let alone the 24 great ones featured here.

Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I'm Gonna Make You Love Me - Dee Dee Warwick

  • 02 Preview Love Love Love - Bobby Hebb

  • 03 Preview The 81 - Candy & The Kisses

  • 04 Preview You Better Believe It Baby - Chubby Checker

  • 05 Preview He'll Never Love You Like I Do - Charlie Gracie

  • 06 Preview When Love Slips Away - Margo & The Marvettes

  • 07 Preview You Don't Know What You Got (Untill You Lose It) - Willie Hobbs

  • 08 Preview Who Do You Love - Reparata & The Delrons

  • 09 Preview Some Kinda Magic - Jerry Butler

  • 10 Preview I've Got Mine, You Better Get Yours - The Sapphires

  • 11 Preview You Gave Me Somebody To Love - The Sidekicks

  • 12 Preview He's No Ordinary Guy - Dee Dee Sharp

  • 13 Preview Eeny Meeny - The Showstoppers

  • 14 Preview Together (In Your Arms) - The Modern Ink Spots

  • 15 Preview (Will You Ever Be My) Steady Boyfriend - April Young

  • 16 Preview Are You Ready For This - Jay & The Techniques

  • 17 Preview Mr Dream Merchant - Dusty Springfield

  • 18 Preview Gonna Be A Big Thing - The Yum Yums

  • 19 Preview The Beachcomber - Joey & The Flips

  • 20 Preview I Can't Go Wrong - Keith

  • 21 Preview Help Yourself - Jimmy James & The Vagabonds

  • 22 Preview These Will Be The Good Old Days - The Dreamlovers

  • 23 Preview Daylight Savin' Time - Sandy Edmonds

  • 24 Preview Bucket O' Grease - Les McCann

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought