Satisfaction Guaranteed! Motown Guys 1961-69 Various Artists (Motown)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

It’s been a great couple of years for Motown fans, with a steady stream of quality Kent and Ace compilations featuring unissued masters from the company’s golden era. “Satisfaction Guaranteed!” might well be one of the best, particularly for those who favour the male side of the Motown roster.

The collection features just about all of the label’s most eminent male artists. The Temptations, Four Tops, Miracles, Shorty Long, Marvin Gaye, Jimmy Ruffin and Jr Walker all appear with sides of such quality that you’ll wonder why they were not issued. Add goodies from pioneer Motown acts the Quails, Gino Parks, Marv Johnson, the Contours and Freddie Gorman, sides from later signings the Fantastic Four, Chuck Jackson, Edwin Starr and Bobby Taylor, a killer from the Spinners, gems from underrated one-shots the Hit Pack, Headliners, Serenaders and Bruce Channel and vocal outings from Ivy Jo Hunter, Frank Wilson and Johnny Bristol – fellows who, during their Motown years, were better known for their writing and production skills – and you have a heck of a compilation.

Highlights? Try Jimmy Ruffin’s early take on the Temptations’ ‘It’s You That I Need’ or the Temptations themselves on an early and quite different version of the oft-recorded ‘He Who Picks A Rose’. Frank Wilson’s essay on ‘Together ‘Til The End Of Time’ shows how closely Brenda Holloway stuck to his script, and Jr Walker’s ‘My Girl Annie’ is as vibrant and exciting as any of his released singles, while his former producer Johnny Bristol has what might be one of the very best of all the hitherto unissued Motown cuts with his groovy ‘How To Forget A True Love’.

In “Satisfaction Guaranteed! Motown Guys 1961-69” compilers Keith Hughes and Mick Patrick have delivered one of the finest packages to date in our Motown series. It’s going to be a tough one to follow – but we’ll try. 

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Satisfaction Is Guaranteed - Bobby Taylor & The Vancouvers

  • 02 Preview Safety Zone - Marv Johnson

  • 03 Preview Tell Me How To Forget A True Love - Johnny Bristol

  • 04 Preview Show Me You Can Dance - The Hit Pack

  • 05 Preview The Sound Of Love - Edwin Starr

  • 06 Preview Hold On To Me (A Little Longer) - The Spinners

  • 07 Preview Baby You Got The Key - Smokey Robinson & The Miracles

  • 08 Preview Where Did You Go - Chuck Jackson

  • 09 Preview Together 'Til The End Of Time - Frank Wilson

  • 10 Preview Just Your Love - Ivy Jo

  • 11 Preview I Wanna Say I Love You - The Fantastic Four

  • 12 Preview (Loneliness Made Me Realize) It's You That I Need - Jimmy Ruffin

  • 13 Preview I'm Gonna Make It To The Top - Freddie Gorman

  • 14 Preview I Wanted To Cry - Bruce Channel

  • 15 Preview Mojo Hannah (studio version) - Marvin Gaye

  • 16 Preview Headin' North - Shorty Long

  • 17 Preview Only On The Weekend - The Headliners

  • 18 Preview He Who Picks A Rose (version 1) - The Temptations

  • 19 Preview Taking Candy From A Baby - Gino Parks

  • 20 Preview My Girl Annie - Jr Walker & The All Stars

  • 21 Preview Say, Say, Baby - The Serenaders

  • 22 Preview Claudia (alternate version) - The Contours

  • 23 Preview This Ole Heart - The Quails

  • 24 Preview The Night We Called It A Day - Four Tops

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Hands-down the soul reissue of the month. ★★★★

Record Collector



Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought