Starday Dixie Rockabilly Vol 2 Various Artists (Starday Records)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

Ace returns to the Starday/Dixie catalogue for a further look at the work of Howard "Pappy" Daily & Don Pierce (See Starday-Dixie Rockabilly Vol 1 on Ace CDCHD 704). These two enterprising veterans of the music business put their stamp on the music of the 50s, and their entry into the "custom pressing" side of the industry opened up a wealth of opportunities to aspiring artists the majors couldn't or wouldn't sign and develop. The musicially minded Daily along with the bottom line Pierce dealt with singers like John Worthan in Jefferson, Georgia or Eddie Seacrist in Charleston, West Virginia who were willing to invest in their musical dreams. These youngsters were usually given the Starday/ Dixie address by their local DJ, an ambitious manager or from the Billboard source book. For a few hundred dollars, several hundred records could be pressed up, original songs published and a label created if needed. (Many would use the Starday or Dixie logo) The letters, cheques and tapes poured in from all over the United States and Canada - the dream factory was in full production.

Corky Jones masks the illustrious name of Buck Owens, who was doing session work when he cut these two rockabilly gems in 1957. The late Joe Poovey and Lucky Wray return from the successful first volume with four and two cuts respectively as does Tommy Nelson. Country chartmaker Lattie Moore also makes an appearance and we are treated to five unreleased cuts by Alton Guyon, Canadian Orella Myers, The Hi-Liters and Lloyd Price discovery Eddie Seacrist. These custom pressings were usually confined to a certain region of the country and the lack of re-pressings ensured their rarity. This CD is the only economical way to own these expensive 45s

by Wayne Russell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Hot Dog - Corky Jones

  • 02 Preview Rhythm And Booze - Corky Jones

  • 03 Preview Sweet Louella aka Louella - Joe Poovey

  • 04 Preview My Life's Ambition - Joe Poovey

  • 05 Preview Careful Baby - Joe Poovey & The Royal Dukes

  • 06 Preview Move Around - Joe Poovey & The Royal Dukes

  • 07 Preview Three Little Wishes - Jimmy Lee & The Playboys

  • 08 Preview Dance Me To Death - The Hi-Liters - vocal Joe Franklin

  • 09 Preview Big Bad Wolf - The Hi-Liters - vocal Joe Franklin

  • 10 Preview Bop Bobby Sox Bop - Alton Guyon

  • 11 Preview Coffee Baby - Alton Guyon

  • 12 Preview Got Another Baby - Lucky Wray

  • 13 Preview What'cha Say Honey? - Lucky Wray

  • 14 Preview Danglin' On A String - Tommy Nelson & Band

  • 15 Preview Honky Tonk Stomp - Hal Payne

  • 16 Preview Sugar Buggar - Fuzzy Whitener with Jerry Dykes & his Band

  • 17 Preview I Want My Baby - Billy Match & The Starfires

  • 18 Preview Dancing To The Rhythm Of A Rock'n'Roll Band - Eddie Seacrist & Rolling Rockets

  • 19 Preview The Cats Were Jumpin' - John Worthan

  • 20 Preview Baby, I'll Never Let You Go - The Love Brothers

  • 21 Preview Rock'n'Roll Boogie - Orella Myers

  • 22 Preview Why Did You Lie To Me? - Lattie Moore

  • 23 Preview Compensation Blues - Daniel Nix & the Compensation Boys

  • 24 Preview You're Gonna Reap What You Sow - Ray Strong

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A rocking collection that's a fine addition to the series.

Now Dig This

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought