A Rocket In My Pocket: The Soundtrack To The Hipster's Guide To Rockabilly Various Artists (Books)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1268

My new book is a history of rockabilly, because I’ve loved that music for damn near 40 years. The first album I ever bought, back in 1973, was a compilation with a mixture of rock’n’roll and rockabilly, including tracks by Wanda Jackson, Carl Perkins and Gene Vincent. When Ace Records first came along later that decade, I was blown away by the range and quality of the material they were issuing. Records like Ace’s landmark “Rockabilly Party” 10-inch LP from 1978, with sleevenotes by the great Ray Topping, which contained Hal Harris’ phenomenal unissued ‘Jitterbop Baby’ – purebred rockabilly with an unstoppably infectious groove riding along on top of some of the most perfectly recorded, echo-drenched slap-bass of all time. Over the years there’s been a wealth of class-A rockin’ material released on the label, so I’m genuinely delighted to have been asked to help compile a selection of the wildest rockabilly tracks for this collection, which is issued at the same time as the book.

The story of rockabilly is largely one of individual recordings, rather than stars. Many great performances were laid down by unknowns whose careers were over almost before the ink dried on their record contracts. Yet the first pure rockabilly record ever made launched its teenage singer on the biggest and most successful career trajectory the music world has ever known. The five singles that Elvis, Scotty and Bill cut in Sam Phillips’ Sun Studios in 1954 and 1955 laid down the blueprint for the worldwide rock explosion of the 1950s, but also defined rockabilly for all time. What you have on this collection is Elvis and a selection of those who were chasing his shadow.

The music came in various styles, from the largely acoustic-flavoured hillbilly strain to the flat-out screamers knocking hell out of any instruments within reach, but the focus with this particular selection is mostly on the wilder cuts: Dale Vaughn’s magnificent one-off for the tiny Von label, ‘How Can You Be Mean To Me’; Gene Maltais in the living room of a soundman in New Hampshire, hollerin’ his way through a berserk rendition of ‘The Raging Sea’; an unissued alternate take of Jackie Morningstar’s much-loved song about the joys of being belted over the head with a rock by a thing from beyond the grave, ‘Rockin’ In The Graveyard’.

Youthful enthusiasm, urgent rhythms and stripped-down arrangements driven along by a slapping upright double bass; these were songs sung mostly by teenagers which dealt with all the essentials of the hepcat lifestyle: girls, cars, booze, dancing. Just like the punk explosion 20 years later, 50s rockabilly was a spontaneous outburst of spirited three-chord songs, in which the major companies had a stake, but there was still plenty of room for tiny record labels, primitive studios, fiercely partisan audiences and wild-eyed, driven performers who weren’t planning much farther ahead than the following week. They were chasing something you couldn’t ever quite catch up with, nail down or explain to your parents.

Lightning in a bottle, a tiger by the tail, a rocket in your pocket.

By Max Décharné


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview How Can You Be Mean To Me - Dale Vaughn

  • 02 Preview Mystery Train - Elvis Presley

  • 03 Preview The Raging Sea - Gene Maltais

  • 04 Preview She's The One That's Got It - Allen Page

  • 05 Preview Put Your Cat Clothes On - Carl Perkins

  • 06 Preview Don't Be Gone Long - Bob Doss

  • 07 Preview Mean, Mean Man - Wanda Jackson

  • 08 Preview The Train Kept A-Rollin' - Johnny Burnette & his Rock'n'Roll Trio

  • 09 Preview Mad Dog In Town - Rocky Bill Ford

  • 10 Preview Jitterbop Baby - Hal Harris

  • 11 Preview Bop-A-Lena - Ronnie Self

  • 12 Preview Rockin' In The Graveyard - Jackie Morningstar

  • 13 Preview Wash Machine Boogie - The Echo Valley Boys with Bill Browning

  • 14 Preview Pink And Black - Sonny Fisher

  • 15 Preview Get With It - Charlie Feathers with Jody & Jerry

  • 16 Preview Come On Little Mama - Ray Harris

  • 17 Preview The Slide - The Rhythm Rockets

  • 18 Preview Big Green Car - Jimmy Carroll

  • 19 Preview Jello Sal - Benny Ingram

  • 20 Preview Mama's Little Baby - Junior Thompson with the Meteors

  • 21 Preview Save It - Mel Robbins

  • 22 Preview I Can't Find The Doorknob - Jimmy & Johnny

  • 23 Preview Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby - Freddie Franks

  • 24 Preview Scratching On My Screen - Ric Cartey

  • 25 Preview Rock To The Boogie - Roy Burk & The Bell Bottoms

  • 26 Preview Boppin' High School Baby - Don Willis

  • 27 Preview Snake Eyed Mama - Don Cole

  • 28 Preview I Got A Rocket In My Pocket - Jimmy Lloyd

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought