Copendium Various Artists (Books)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
COPE 001

In 1979 Julian Cope appeared as lead singer with the deceptively pop Teardrop Explodes just as the first wave of punk rock washed over. They were part of a new wave of Liverpool bands that included Echo & the Bunnymen. Their debut album “Kilimanjaro” was their first breakthrough and was soon followed by the Top 10 single ‘Reward’ in 1981. The band split two years later.

Cope ventured out on a solo career and had a string of single chart entries through to 1996, the best-known and biggest being 1986’s ‘World Shut Your Mouth’. His 1991 double album “Peggy Suicide” garnered many good notices and was a commercial success also. More recently, most of the music output has been collaborations as L.A.M.F, Brain Donor and Black Sheep and sufficiently extreme as to guarantee not to trouble the charts.

Alongside his music career he also developed as a writer and in 1995 he published Krautrocksampler, the definitive book on German underground music from the late 60s. 2005’s Japrocksampler was similarly definitive on post-war to punk war Japan.

He has also written outside the music world with two highly regarded books: The Modern Antiquarian, an exhaustive guide to Britain’s ancient sites, complete with maps, photographs and illustrations, and The Megalithic European, which explores the prehistoric wonders of Europe. The Independent described him as “writer, rocker, goddess-worshipper and self-styled shaman”. His Head Heritage website is a vehicle for writing about his idiosyncratic taste in the outer vistas of music old, new, psychedelic, uncompromising, highly personal and frequently uncomfortable.

This year Faber & Faber published a Copendium of this writing and, with Ace handling the backroom functions, have produced a triple CD soundtrack to the book which is now available on Faber & Faber Records.

Never less than real, the compilation is as refreshing as it is challenging. It launches from the opening riff of Lord Buckley into a chronological trip through the dawn of hard rock/psychedelia/soundscapes of the late 60s/early 70s, arriving in the outer limits of punk at the end of Disc 1. With a great leap across the 80s, Disc 2 is an intense destructo-guitar fest in the age of grunge. By Disc 3 anything goes acoustically or electrically driven, but the intensity does not abate. Not for the faint-hearted, it is held together by the Cope doctrine of music.

The booklet features a note by Rob Young, author of the highly acclaimed Electric Eden. All of the music, sequencing and audio have been overseen by Julian Cope.


By Alvar Lidell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Supermarket - Lord Buckley

  • 02 Preview Tio Minuter - Pärson Sound

  • 03 Preview Feathers From Your Tree - Blue Cheer

  • 04 Preview Einladung (Invitation) - Achim Reichel & Machines

  • 05 Preview Zu neuen Abenteuern (To New Adventures) - Achim Reichel & Machines

  • 06 Preview Im Zauber der 7 Sinne (In The Magic Forest) - Achim Reichel & Machines

  • 07 Preview Im Irrgarten des Geistes (In The Labyrinth Of The Mind) - Achim Reichel & Machines

  • 08 Preview Beim Walzer der Triebe (At The Walz Of The Inclinations) - Achim Reichel & Machines

  • 09 Preview Unter dem schwarz-grün-roten Banner (Under The Black-Green-Red Banner) - Achim Reichel & Machines

  • 10 Preview Internationalhymne (International Anthem) - Achim Reichel & Machines

  • 11 Preview Fall - Cold Sun

  • 12 Preview King Of The Streets - Armand Schaubroeck Steals

  • 13 Preview All My Life - Mirrors

  • 14 Preview Helicopter - Sand

  • 15 Preview Electro Rock - Simply Saucer

  • 16 Preview Tidal Wave - The Electric Eels

  • 17 Preview TV As Eyes - Chrome

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Crypto-Zoological Disaster - Monoshock

  • 02 Preview Mass Destruction - VON LMO

  • 03 Preview Hurricane - The Tight Bros From Way Back When

  • 04 Preview Oso Malo - Thrones

  • 05 Preview The Jaybird - Sunburned Hand of the Man

  • 06 Preview Baptism > Bar > Blues - Vibracathedral Orchestra

  • 07 Preview Return To Heaven - Comets on Fire

  • 08 Preview Stranded in Ashland - The New Lou Reeds

Side 3

  • 01 Preview The Temple - Haare

  • 02 Preview Child Of Orion - Vincent Black Shadow

  • 03 Preview Geryon's Throne - Orthodox

  • 04 Preview Ghost Eye Gaze: Ghost Eye See - Crow Tongue

  • 05 Preview Weissensee - Matt Baldwin

  • 06 Preview Lighter Slinger Festival - Gunslingers

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes




Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought