More Miles Than Money The Soundtrack To Garth Cartwright's Book Various Artists (Books)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCH2 1266

More Miles Than Money: Journeys Through American Music is a book I researched and wrote between 2006-2008. In many ways I’d been waiting my entire life to write More Miles. Growing up in Mt Roskill – a working class suburb of Auckland, New Zealand, where there were no music venues, cinemas, pubs, nothing but churches and rugby fields – I took refuge in Mark Twain and Jack Kerouac’s adventures while AM radio (modelled on US radio) spun hits by Freddy Fender, the Amazing Rhythm Aces, Little Feat et al. I dreamed of escaping Auckland’s suburbs to ride Route 66 and Highway 61, ears and eyes open. Eventually I got to live my dream and More Miles is the story of those travels.

I didn’t know it back then but Kiwi radio was often playing music akin to that which Charlie Gillett played on his Honky Tonk radio show in London. Discovering Charlie’s book The Sound Of The City sent me scouring through secondhand bookstores in search of old copies of Cream, Creem and Let It Rock, where the writings of Charlie and other likeminded journalists appeared. I’d go so far as to say that a feature Charlie wrote on the great New Orleans producer-arranger Harold Battiste (Cream #5, Sept 1971) was what initially inspired me to want to search out the largely unsung heroes of American music.

At the same time as reading Charlie Gillett I was buying US imports on a variety of labels, with Arhoolie being my favourite. Mexican culture fascinated me, especially that which arose from the borderlands, the Tex-Mex/Tejano music. (Blame this on my dad taking me to see Sam Peckinpah’s westerns.) Discovering a bin full of Arhoolie Records in a downtown record shop introduced me to a treasure trove of magical Mexican American music and reading about Arhoolie founder Chris Strachwitz’s efforts to record the finest American vernacular music provided even more inspiration. Later on, Canyon Records would open my ears to how Native American culture celebrated its survival. Around the same time an uncle who loved jazz gave me Curtis Mayfield’s “Superfly” album – he found it too funky for his tastes. Talk about life-changing records: to this day Curtis remains my favourite US soul singer.

I dedicated More Miles Than Money to Charlie, Chris and the indomitable spirit of Curtis Mayfield. Tragically, Charlie died earlier this year. He, like Curtis, lives on as an indomitable spirit and continues to inspire me. This compilation is, again, dedicated to Charlie, Chris and Curtis: the three Cs who helped me hear America.

More Miles Than Money reflects on an America that made the mightiest music of the 20th Century. This compilation aims then to salute those who inspired me to ride US highways and document those I encountered as I wandered through honky-tonks, juke joints and barrios. Enjoy!

By Garth Cartwright


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Castanets - Alejandro Escovedo

  • 02 Preview Hey Leroy (Your Mama's Calling You) - Jimmy Castor

  • 03 Preview Bidi Bidi Bom Bom - Selena

  • 04 Preview I Don't Know - Linda Lyndell

  • 05 Preview It's Alright - Bobby Rush

  • 06 Preview Los Traficantes De Michoacan - Mariachi Los Gavilanes De Oakland

  • 07 Preview I Couldn't Spell !!*@! - Sam The Sham & The Pharoahs

  • 08 Preview Aint That Livin' - Dale Watson

  • 09 Preview Standing On The Corner (Blue Yodel #9) - Jimmie Rodgers

  • 10 Preview Gimme A Pigfoot And A Bottle Of Beer - Bessie Smith

  • 11 Preview Able Mable - Mable John

  • 12 Preview Nothing In Rambling - Memphis Minnie

  • 13 Preview Woman Of The Ghetto - Marlena Shaw

  • 14 Preview Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay - The Dells

  • 15 Preview You Just Can't Beat Jesus Christ - Billy Joe Shaver & Johnny Cash

  • 16 Preview John Henry - Furry Lewis

  • 17 Preview Turpentine - J.J. Grey & Mofro

  • 18 Preview Down South - Big George Brock

  • 19 Preview Crazy Love Life - Pipestone

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Death Letter - Johnny Farmer & Organised Noize

  • 02 Preview A Mother's Love - Charles Wright

  • 03 Preview Mighty Long Time - Sonny Boy Williamson

  • 04 Preview That's How Strong My Love Is - O.V. Wright with The Keys

  • 05 Preview Didn't Know Love Was So Good - The Goodees

  • 06 Preview Mi Problema - Lydia Mendoza

  • 07 Preview Flying Shoes - Townes Van Zandt

  • 08 Preview How Far Down Can I Go - Lefty Frizzell

  • 09 Preview Astonished (In Memphis) - Giant Sand

  • 10 Preview Corn Grinding Song - Radmilla Cody

  • 11 Preview Pony - Diana Jones

  • 12 Preview Over The Hill - R.L. Burnside

  • 13 Preview I Gotta Keep On Moving - The Impressions

  • 14 Preview Every Now And Then - Honeyboy Edwards & Carey Bell

  • 15 Preview Texas Hood Song - Kell Robertson

  • 16 Preview Sad Days, Lonely Nights - Junior Kimbrough

  • 17 Preview If I Had Wings - T-Model Ford & Shrive Alive

  • 18 Preview Sitting At Home Alone - Hound Dog Taylor

  • 19 Preview Ramblin' Man - Luke The Drifter (Hank Williams)

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes




A deliciously diverting musical tour guide. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought