Super Funk's Mission Impossible Various Artists (Super Funk)


Catalogue Id:
BGP2 234

This product is also available in these versions:
Super Funk's Mission Impossible, CD (£11.70)

It’s been a long time coming: almost four years of digging and delving into tape vaults, following this or that lead, before we felt we had enough to make another “Super Funk” outing not just viable but undeniably worthwhile. We like to go a little further, offering up music that can’t be sourced elsewhere. To that end, alongside seven cuts culled from rare 45s, we have unearthed 13 unissued masters, all high quality. They include a previously unknown cut by Linda Lyndell, of ‘What A Man’ fame, and an instrumental version of the funk break ‘I Got Some’ from Dave Hamilton’s archive.

Of the issued tracks, none would give you much change from £100 if you were to purchase them on original 45s. Betty Gouché’s wonderful ‘What More Can I Ask For’, the rarest release on Matt Hill’s Hill label, is a currently in-demand piece of sister funk. Also at the top of many wants lists is ‘Walkin’ The Duck’ by Jim Pipkin on the Camelot logo from the Pacific North West. The Eternal Flames, Cross Bronx Expressway and Sue Ann Jones are all classic funk collectors’ items, and range from impossible to fairly difficult to find. The S.O.U.L. recording of ‘Burning Spear’ is an established classic that has recently been discovered in a very sharp seven inch version, much better suited to the dancefloor.

The unreleased material is of the very highest quality and ranges from the symphonic funk of the Ebony Godfathers to the stripped-down rhythms of the Dave Hamilton Players, who appear with a version of Billy Garner’s breakbeat classic ‘I Got Some’. We have some especially rich veins to mine here, including the vaults of Music City, Dave Hamilton and GRC. From Music City we unleash an unknown gem from the Two Things In One, while the Detroit stylings of Chico & Buddy are a fine find from the Hamilton stash and the Atlanta vault of GRC yields my favourite cut, ‘Talk Is Cheap’ by an unkown female singer – hear the intro and watch the dancefloor go wild! If this isn’t enough, gospel legend Dorothy Norwood delivers the astoundingly catchy ‘Time Is Winding Up’.

As part of a renewed BGP assault on the record vaults of the world, this is some of the greatest funk never committed to vinyl. Hopefully it won’t be as long until the next volume, but if it is, you have plenty to savour in the meantime.

By Dean Rudland


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Burning Spear - S.O.U.L.

  • 02 Preview What The Matter For Ya - Eternal Flames

  • 03 Preview Stir It Up - Johnny Jacobs

  • 04 Preview Time Is Winding Up - Dorothy Norwood

  • 05 Preview What More Can I Ask For - Betty Gouché

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Talk Is Cheap - Unknown

  • 02 Preview I'll Give You My Love - Sue Ann Jones

  • 03 Preview My Man, He's A Loving Man - Linda Lyndell

  • 04 Preview Walkin' The Duck - Jim Pipkin & The Boss Five

  • 05 Preview Junkyard Dog - Miles Grayson

Side 3

  • 01 Preview I Got Some - The Dave Hamilton Studio Players

  • 02 Preview Help Your Brothers - Cross Bronx Expressway

  • 03 Preview Gonna Have A Good Time - David Camon

  • 04 Preview Over Dose (Of Your Love) - The Two Things In One

  • 05 Preview It Ain't The Beauty It's The Booty - Chico & Buddy

Side 4

  • 01 Preview Help Me (Pt 1) - Archie Russell

  • 02 Preview Fix It - O.C. Tolbert

  • 03 Preview Confusion - The Two Things In One

  • 04 Preview Oracabessa - The Ebony Godfathers

  • 05 Preview Don't Knock My Love - The Sixth Sense

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought