Swamp Pop By The Bayou: Troubles, Tears & Trains Various Artists (By the Bayou)


Louisiana/New Orleans
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1462

In the late 50s and early 60s Saturday nights in South Louisiana and the little corner of South East Texas that was home to many Cajun families resounded to the music that would become known as swamp pop. It was music for dancing and remains popular. Sure, the couples on the dance floor may be a little older now but they still cling as tightly on the slow numbers – the “buckle polishers” – and show some fancy steps to set the skirts a-swirlin’ on the faster tunes.

This is the second swamp pop edition in the “By The Bayou” series and features a host of unknown or little-known tracks from that golden era mined from the vaults of J.D. Miller, Eddie Shuler, Floyd Soileau, Sam Montel, Huey Meaux, Joe Ruffino, Pappy Daily, Murray Nash, Jim Rentz, the Hitt label and even the mighty Mercury. Six of the tracks are previously unissued, three are unissued alternates and the remaining 19 are fiendishly obscure.

Amongst the unissued gold is Johnny Preston’s ‘Satan In Satin’. The master tape had been lost, so it never appeared on any collection of his work, but by good fortune I acquired what is believed to be the artist’s personal acetate and am pleased to share it here. The Boogie Kings’ ‘Please Forgive Me’ is archetypal swamp pop and the group would go on to become one of the most successful South Louisiana bands, but the track has remained unheard in the J.D. Miller vaults until now. Swamp pop hero Warren Storm devoted considerable studio time spread over several sessions to his version of Ted Daffan’s ‘I’m A Fool To Care’ but it was never issued. The recording included here was take 10 from just one session.

Elsewhere, it’s good to hear J.D. Miller’s original take of Wiley Jeffers’ ‘Lonely, Lonely Heart’ without the overdubs and the story behind Buck Rogers’ ‘Crazy Baby’ adds to our knowledge. King Savoy’s ‘I Beg Of You’, Jimmy Trotter’s ‘Hungry And Thirsty’ and Buddy Lorton’s ‘Time’ are just about impossible to find on 45 and this version of John Fred’s ‘Shirley’ is much more difficult to locate than his first take on the song.

All in all, this 13th volume in the “By The Bayou” series was made for dancing but it’s a pleasure to just listen – although you won’t be able to stop your foot a-tappin’.

Ian Saddler


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Train To Nowhere - Roy Perkins with Jerry Starr & The Clippers

  • 02 Preview Won't You Believe Me - Dale Houston

  • 03 Preview Blue Eyes - Phil Cay

  • 04 Preview You Know You Made Me Cry - John Fred

  • 05 Preview I Beg Of You - King Savoy & The Rhythm Rockers

  • 06 Preview Problems On My Mind - Gene Dunlap & the Jokers

  • 07 Preview What I Want - Floyd Brown

  • 08 Preview Baby What Can I Do - Frankie Lowery

  • 09 Preview The Secret Of Love Is In My Heart - Unknown Rock'n'Roll Band

  • 10 Preview Please Forgive Me - The Boogie Kings

  • 11 Preview Slim Needle - Larry Hart

  • 12 Preview Crazy Baby - Buck Rogers

  • 13 Preview Troubles, Troubles (Troubles On My Mind) - Warren Storm

  • 14 Preview (Big Bad) City Police - Dale Houston

  • 15 Preview High School Sweethearts - Everett Daigle with Terry & The Tune Tones

  • 16 Preview Wait A Minute - Al "Puddler" Harris

  • 17 Preview Lonely, Lonely Heart - Wiley Jeffers aka Wally Jeffrey

  • 18 Preview Satan In Satin - Johnny Preston

  • 19 Preview Hungry And Thirsty - Jimmy Trotter

  • 20 Preview My Sweet Baby's Gone - Forest Rye

  • 21 Preview I Can't Live Alone - Buck Rogers

  • 22 Preview Sweet Lilly - Roy Perkins

  • 23 Preview Time - Buddy Lorton

  • 24 Preview I'm A Fool To Care - Warren Storm

  • 25 Preview Shed So Many Tears - Johnny Jano

  • 26 Preview The Memories - Billy Lewis

  • 27 Preview Sneaking Home - Jay Richards

  • 28 Preview Shirley - John Fred & The Playboys Band

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought