Boppin' By The Bayou Various Artists (By the Bayou)


Louisiana/New Orleans
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1345

The Cajun people of the plains and swamps of South Louisiana are steeped in music with a raw edge. Prior to World War II the music of the bayous was Cajun; the only real changes were the shift from accordion to fiddle as the lead instrument. The war changed all that. The thousands of Cajun men who served, many of them musicians, were exposed to other music forms; the influences – most notably blues and rhythm, as it was then called, and hillbilly – crept into their songs.

As the 1940s progressed into the 50s, small independent record companies sprang up to record this rural music, which was largely being ignored by major labels. Local radio stations started to play it and the jukebox became a major entertainment in bars and diners where the owner couldn’t afford a live band, or just between sets.

The most prominent of these new record companies were Goldband and Folk-Star founded by Eddie Shuler, and the Fais-Do-Do and Feature banners of J.D. Miller. These were joined by the Khoury’s and Lyric labels of George Khoury. They all started out as vehicles for Cajun and hillbilly music but soon added blues and R&B artists to their rosters.

Dance music had always been the backbone of the Cajun way of life. As traditional bands added heavier rhythms, string basses and drums, their tunes became all the more exciting. South Louisiana – and particularly its youth – like the rest of America, was ready to take the next step.

The catalyst was Elvis Presley. When he stepped in front of the microphone at Radio KWKH for his first Louisiana Hayride broadcast on 16 October 1954, a torch was lit in the hearts of young Cajuns, as it was in the primarily working class youth across the rest of the USA.

Rock’n’roll had arrived and all of the artists on this CD would play a part, revelling in it and giving it a distinctive sound – the sound of the bayous.

The first record companies were quick to add these new artists to their rosters and were soon joined by Jin/Swallow (founded by Floyd Soileau), Hammond (Luke Thompson), Carl (Jake Graffagnino), Hilton (Hilton McCrory) and a plethora of smaller outfits and one-shot deals.

The music produced – whether categorised as rockabilly, swamp pop or Cajun bop – has an added element in coming from this area. Rock’n’roll was already an amalgam of earlier styles; the Louisiana melting pot added its own spice to the gumbo.

This CD is the first in the “Boppin’ By The Bayou” series which will focus on these music forms. The concept has been given added depth by a deal struck with the family of the late J.D. Miller, which allows us to include previously unreleased material. Plus, with new technology, we’ll be reinvigorating tracks discovered by the sterling work of Bruce Bastin and Flyright some 35 years ago. There will also be a “Bluesin’ By The Bayou” series featuring jump blues and R&B.

By Ian Saddler


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Tag Along - Tommy Todd

  • 02 Preview Kiss Me Baby - Al Ferrier

  • 03 Preview She's Mine - Johnny Jano

  • 04 Preview Linda Gail - Rod Bernard & The Twisters

  • 05 Preview Laura Lee - Gil Giroy & The Jolly Rockers

  • 06 Preview My Need For Love - Jivin' Gene & The Jokers

  • 07 Preview Watch My Smoke - Vince Anthony & The Blue Notes

  • 08 Preview Too High Class - Bonnie Fussell & The Jives

  • 09 Preview Indian Rock'n'Roll - Al Ferrier

  • 10 Preview Wild Man Rock - Hunter Watts & His Southern Pals

  • 11 Preview Keep Your Hands Off It - Lawrence Walker & His Wandering Aces

  • 12 Preview That's All Right Mama - Nathan Abshire & The Pine Grove Boys vocal Robert Bertrand

  • 13 Preview Feel So Good - Bill & Carroll & The Neches Valley Boys

  • 14 Preview Some Other Time - Arnold Broussard

  • 15 Preview Just You Wait And See - Ronnie Bennett

  • 16 Preview All Night In Jail - Rod Bernard & The Twisters

  • 17 Preview Kansas City - Warren Storm

  • 18 Preview Don't Say No - Nathan & The Sparks

  • 19 Preview I Got A Great Big Love - Tommy Todd

  • 20 Preview Big Cloud (Pt 1) - Jay Chevalier & The Long Shots

  • 21 Preview Release Me - Rocket Morgan

  • 22 Preview Rattlesnake - Wiley Barkdull with Rusty & Doug

  • 23 Preview I'd Make A Good Man For You - Johnny Jano

  • 24 Preview I'm In Love With You - Jivin' Gene

  • 25 Preview Little Bitty Mama - Rod Bernard & The Twisters

  • 26 Preview I'll Be There - Tommy Todd

  • 27 Preview Boogie Children / Walking With Frankie - The Playboys vocal John Fred

  • 28 Preview Tag Along - Rocket Morgan

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A classic essential purchase for those who like unvarnished rock'n'roll. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought