Boppin' By The Bayou - Made In The Shade Various Artists (By the Bayou)


Louisiana/New Orleans
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1415

The ninth release in the “…By The Bayou” series brings you some hot rockers from South Louisiana and Southeast Texas, an area where Cajun culture has had a strong influence over its music and never more so than in the heyday of real rock’n’roll, the 1950s. Rock’n’roll was a hybrid of C&W and R&B right across the USA, but in Cajun country the influences were more specific; the country music was from Texas, the R&B from New Orleans, and into this mix went rockabilly from Memphis via Shreveport and Cajun music. In this exciting compilation you will find all of those influences to varying degrees.

New to the series are Texas rockers Gene Dunlap, Jimmy Dart (aka Jimmy “Frenchy” Dee) and Bobby Wheeler, whilst fresh from the J.D. Miller vaults in Crowley, Louisiana come Erwin Babin and Joe Carl. Other first-timers are Shelby Martin and Norman Wood from Carol Rachou’s La Louisianne stable in Lafayette, Gene King from Sam Montel’s Montel label in Baton Rouge, Gene Rodrigue from Floyd Soileau’s Rod logo in Ville Platte, Vorris “Shorty”  Le Blanc from Goldband and Paul Marvin from the Ron label out of New Orleans.

There are also new tracks from Pee Wee Trahan, Warren Storm, Mickey Gilley and Bee Arnold (Arnold Broussard) who have rocked earlier “Boppin’” CDs. As always, the focus is on bringing you a balanced compilation of rare or unknown songs, ranging from the unleashed wildness of Peto Marlow, through the bluesy tones of Arnold Broussard, the swamp rock of Paul Marvin and Warren Storm to the pure rockabilly of Johnny Bass and Pee Wee Trahan. 

By Ian Saddler 


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Made In The Shade - Gene Dunlap & Jokers

  • 02 Preview T.V. Show - Gene King & His Mecaton Band

  • 03 Preview Baby Hurry Home - Pee Wee Trahan

  • 04 Preview Lover Blues - Red Smiley & the Veltones

  • 05 Preview Jump And Shout - Guitar Jeff & The Creoles

  • 06 Preview You're Too Hot To Handle - Joe Carl

  • 07 Preview Please Don't Doubt My Love - Jimmy Dart & Gene Dunlap & The Jokers

  • 08 Preview Rock & Roll Baby - Bobby Wheeler & His B-Bops

  • 09 Preview Freight Train - Larry Hart

  • 10 Preview Somebody Knocked At My Door - Arnold Broussard

  • 11 Preview Don't Move Too Slow - Johnny Bass

  • 12 Preview My Baby's Cheatin' On Me - Mickey Gilley

  • 13 Preview This Kind Of Livin' - Shelby Martin

  • 14 Preview Kaw-Liga - Vorris (Shorty) Le Blanc & All The Sugar Bee's

  • 15 Preview Little Cajun Girl - Gene Rodrigue

  • 16 Preview Black Lake Boogie - Norman Wood

  • 17 Preview Keeping All My Loving - Pee Wee Trahan

  • 18 Preview Has Anyone Seen Spider? - Arnold Broussard

  • 19 Preview Hey Ma Ma - Warren Storm

  • 20 Preview Girls Girls Girls (Lucy Lucille) - Peto Marlow & The Rhythm Kings

  • 21 Preview Little Girl - Frankie Lowery

  • 22 Preview Me And My Baby - Rick Johnson

  • 23 Preview John (Don't Love Me No More) - Unknown

  • 24 Preview Big Boy Blue - Erwin Babin

  • 25 Preview Boppin' It - Johnny Bass

  • 26 Preview Because I Love Her - Gene Dunlap & Jokers

  • 27 Preview Cinderella - Paul Marvin

  • 28 Preview Crowley Stomp - Warren Storm & The Miller House Band

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Those who enjoyed the superb Flyright series, or indeed already own the first eight CDs in this Ace series, will know what to expect here and can safely add this great set to their collections.

Blues & Rhythm

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought