Rhythm 'n' Bluesin' By The Bayou: Rompin' & Stompin' Various Artists (By the Bayou)


Louisiana/New Orleans
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1388

Letting the good times roll again, with this second visit to the dynamic South Louisiana R&B scene there is no waver in the quality of music.

We’ve added the work of another Louisiana record man, Sam Montel from Baton Rouge, to the vast stockpile of material in the vaults of J.D. Miller, Eddie Shuler, Floyd Soileau and Jake Graffagnino.

Sam (originally Montalbano) got into the music business when his childhood friend Jimmy Clanton hit the charts. Sam became his road manager and the whole scene got into his blood. He decided to start his own record label when only 18 years old. His first release, Lester Robertson’s ‘My Girl Across Town’, is included here, as is a previously unissued outing from Robertson.

The Montel label had considerable success with artists including John Fred, Dale & Grace and the Boogie Kings, all attracting strong sales. We will be pulling out more R&B, swamp pop and rockin’ goodies from these vaults for future releases in the “By The Bayou” series.

The other label owners – J.D. Miller from Crowley, Eddie Shuler from Lake Charles, Floyd Soileau from Ville Platte and Jake Graffagnino from Opelousas– have all had recordings featured on our earlier CDs. Like Sam, they could all spot talent and got the best out of their artists. It means Ace has the opportunity to bring you dynamic tracks from an area of the USA so very rich in talent. In addition to the talents of the lead vocalists, the backing musicians on many of the tracks are also very accomplished.

Guitar Gable is heard on many titles, as is Katie Webster on piano, sax giant Lionel Torrence, drummers Jockey Etienne and Warren Storm and Lazy Lester, who would play whatever instrument was asked of him; all are featured on many of the Crowley recordings.

Classie Ballou’s band was used often at Goldband, while the Upsetters, Little Richard’s former outfit, can be heard on Lester Robertson’s tracks.

The excitement of discovering new material such as the track by Tabby Thomas, the previously unknown and romping version of ‘Flat Foot Sam’ by TV Slim and the downright nasty ‘Oh Mama (Cajun Blues)’ by Classie Ballou is undiminished. Bracketing them with other fabulous unknown recordings, unissued alternates and long deleted masterpieces is a pleasure and a privilege.

If you have rhythm in your bones and a love of the raw and rockin’ then “Rhythm’n’Bluesin’ By The Bayou – Rompin’ & Stompin’” is going transport your spirit to a Louisiana juke joint.

By Ian Saddler


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Teenagers - Tabby Thomas

  • 02 Preview Silly Filly Oh Baby - Jay Nelson

  • 03 Preview She's Got Eyes Like A Cat - Wonder Boy Travis

  • 04 Preview Schooldays Schooldays - Lester Robertson

  • 05 Preview Walkin' In The Park - King Karl

  • 06 Preview Flat Foot Sam - TV Slim

  • 07 Preview California Blues - Lonesome Sundown

  • 08 Preview Sad Lover - Johnny Sonnier

  • 09 Preview When I Leave Here - King Karl

  • 10 Preview You're So Good Looking - Otis Smith

  • 11 Preview Pray On (Pray On My Child) - Billy Tate

  • 12 Preview Learn To Treat Me Better - Leroy Washington

  • 13 Preview Teenage Queen - Tabby Thomas

  • 14 Preview What You Wanna Do It For - Lonesome Sundown

  • 15 Preview You Can't Trust Nobody - Leroy Washington

  • 16 Preview You'ld Better Change - Joe Richards

  • 17 Preview Dilly Waddy - Chuck Martin

  • 18 Preview Round And Round - James "Sugar Boy" Crawford & His Canecutters

  • 19 Preview San Antonio - Big Walter

  • 20 Preview You Done Me Wrong - Little Victor

  • 21 Preview Boogie Children - Charles Sheffield

  • 22 Preview She Went Thataway - Wonder Boy Travis

  • 23 Preview Oh Mama (Cajun Blues) aka Hey Ma Ma - Classie Ballou

  • 24 Preview Baby, Baby - Katie Webster & Ashton Conroy

  • 25 Preview Tomorrow - Carol Fran

  • 26 Preview Lucille - Classie Ballou

  • 27 Preview My Girl Across Town - Lester Robertson & The Upsetters

  • 28 Preview I'm A Country Boy - Ivory Jackson

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes




Ace opens another treasure trove.

Blues & Rhythm

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought